Are We There Yet?

My little boy asked me two questions. These two are the beginning of years of the same questions, and the first time I’ve ever heard him utter them together. When he did, I chuckled then cringed. Do all kids ask these two? What happens? Is there a power surge of genetic growth one day and suddenly they know which two to start asking over and over and over again?

He asked me, “Are we there yet?”

Where did that come from? He was playing alone in the living room, and then pops up with that out of the blue? When I replied, “No,” he tipped his head to one side and asked, “Why?”

Then it began. Everything I said he’d finish with one last word, “Why?” My throat is sore today from all the extra explaining I did to my three-year-old. Now I know why my mother said the phrase I swore I’d never say, “Because I said so and I’m the Mommy!”

Do you think God ever thinks that? “Because I said so and I’m your Father.”

I do want to ask Him one question over and over on days like…everyday.

“Are we there yet?”

Of course the verse that pops into my head is;

“And he (Jesus) said unto them, It is not for you to know the times or the seasons, which the Father hath put in his own power.” Acts 1:7

It was his way of saying, “We’ll get there when we get there.” Although God explains when we get there, what it will be like for us.

“In a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trump: for the trumpet shall sound, and the dead shall be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.” 1 Corinthians 15:52

My next question is, “Why?”

(Okay… so now I see where my son gets it. He really is a brilliant child.)

The funny thing is, God answers it for me in the next few verses in 1 Corinthians. Check this out.

“For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal [must] put on immortality. So when this corruptible shall have put on incorruption, and this mortal shall have put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written, Death is swallowed up in victory. O death, where [is] thy sting? O grave, where [is] thy victory? The sting of death [is] sin; and the strength of sin [is] the law. But thanks [be] to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye steadfast, unmovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.” 1 Cor. 15:53-58

The trump shall sound and the dead shall rise. Wow! Let me ask you something. IF the dead are already in heaven, why then would God put them back in the ground and raise them again at the last trump? It says here, that the dead shall rise at the last trump. Has the last trump sounded yet? Then are the dead alive now?

“But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him. For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive [and] remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent (precede) them which are asleep. For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive [and] remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord. Wherefore comfort one another with these words.” 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18

Why does God call death, “sleep”? Because at some point in the future, we are going to wake up. We are all going to wake up. There’s that trump again. This is all one big event. How exciting! So if our relatives are not “up” yet, then who are these people talking to that claim they’ve seen them? Our answer is back in 1 Samuel, where God called it as it was.

“Then said Saul unto his servants, Seek me a woman that hath a familiar spirit, that I may go to her, and enquire of her. And his servants said to him, Behold, [there is] a woman that hath a familiar spirit at Endor.” 1 Samuel 28:7

What is a familiar spirit? A spirit that is familiar with the countenance of a person. A spirit can look like anyone, and anything. It can look like you’re old dog Bowzer, if it was trying to convince you. But Saul went to her, the rest of the story says he asked her to raise Samuel. Was Samuel “up” yet? Not if we believe what the Word of God says and let the Word speak for itself. We are the workers of the Word, we are the ones charged to rightly divide it. So who was he talking to? Yep, a spirit that was familiar with Samuel’s countenance.

That is an awesome account that I suggest anyone, looking further into that subject, should research.

For today, I’d like to ask, are we there yet? No. But it is available to earn treasures in heaven while we’re here. Like this one…

“Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.” 1 Timothy 4:8

God Bless You today!

Leave a Reply

