5 Ways to Stop a Spiritual Binge

I felt lazy, unorganized, unmotivated and even worse, I avoided the actions that would motivate me. It was my day off, I was entitled to a little sitting around, but this day, I didn’t even shower. Every priority flew out the window even my conversation with God. When that happens, it’s like putting water in the gas tank of my renewed mind. It doesn’t get me down right away, I’m still running on high-octane for a while. But then, I feel the sputter, then slow down, then my gears grind to a halt. I don’t remember the joy of being God’s kid anymore, I just feel like a clogged up drain.

This is the very definition of a spiritual binge. Instead of going to the Father for my renewal, I go to something else, anything really. It starts small, then before long it grows into hairy legs, bad breath, chocolate hidden in the couch cushions and a vapid expression at the television while clenching the remote in one atrophied hand. It’s worse than a rhino with a bad horn day using tree bark for a maxi-pad. Heaven forbid someone stumble upon me in this condition!

Rhino bad horn day-001

The first thing to do, is realize what happened.

I have Broken Fellowship-itis

Broken fellowship can suck the joy out of life and especially from our relationships. Our relationship with God is the most important one. So here are five ways to avoid the spiritual binge and see continued joy in your heart every day.

  • Get rid of entitlement thinking. We are beyond blessed for the abundant life God provided to us. He owed us nothing, and yet adopted us into His family. Jesus Christ didn’t think that way, if he had, where would we be today. Instead of say “Father, you owe me”, he said, “Father, what can I give you?” This is the powerful Pride Management System. (PMS)
  • Mend that broken fellowship. “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us [our] sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9. This is a promise and a procedure. How simple! Then pray in the spirit like a house afire! Don’t quit even for a second. You’ll build your inner man, bring rest to your soul, pray for things you know not of, and give thanks well to God. There are twelve benefits to speaking in tongues. But the  bottom line is; the more you do it the better you feel, so speak in tongues before you reel.
  • Mend broken fellowship with those around you. The best way to do this is, ask God what He would do to reach out and tenderly bless the heart. And when I mean tenderly, I mean be open to God’s version of that. We think of kindness as an act, but it could be an attitude and heart change too. Then follow that with an act.
  • Give. When the pressure is on give. When we want to be selfish, that is the best time to do a bless mission for someone else. “Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, [so let him give]; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.” 2 Cor. 9:7. The finely-tuned byproduct of giving, is gratitude. Gratitude ushers in joy, peace, love, and forgiveness. It’s incredibly healing. Only someone as big as God could design that.
  • Straighten your living space. This seems small, but when our living space is cluttered and messy, our thinking tends to be as well. One of the life rafts for the renewed mind is stewardship. Take charge of those unfinished projects that hover in the back of your mind. You’ll be amazed at how refreshing it can be.

God bless you today, and what a wonderful new day it is!

Leave a Reply

