What Will You Do?

Something wonderful happened this weekend.

I couldn’t wait to share it with you. Do you remember how I nag about letting God make life interesting for you. I recall mentioning that God can rev up your engines about a project, if you just let Him flesh out an idea. I finally, took my advice.

This weekend I thought, why not I try something new. So, on a whim, I picked up my son’s craft paint and kiddy brushes and painted a flower. I was quickly absorbed in the deep rich colors and the strokes of the cheap little brush. I added light colors to dark. Each timid swipe built to a calmer, steadier proceeding stroke. Had I known all along? Had my mind always gravitated to the artist’s palette? I looked around my home and hanging around me, in a dozen or more spots, I found natural beauty wrought by an artist’s brush! I couldn’t believe it. I still can’t. God knew about this unconscious magnetism all along!

Do I dare continue forward? A resounding yes, pounded my brain.

So I bought a trial set of oils and a canvas–on sale. I thought if I’m terrible beyond measure, I’ll never look at it again. Then, I went online and found a famous tv painter on YouTube. I set up my paints and old, dry-erase, board-easel, placed the canvas on it and hesitated. The cheap bristled brush shook over the intimidating sea of white. What would I paint? Where would I start? I swallowed hard and put the magenta dobbed brush to canvas. The color was true and I was hooked! I did three large paintings in twenty-four hours. Each an improvement on the last.

Emotions bubbled inside my like the turmoil of a crashing wave. They were mixed, joy, fun, relief, astonishment, fun, energy and the waves of them kept coming. There is no way I could turn back now. How could I retrace my steps back to my old, undiscovered self? I’d have to mark the trail and return again and again like a chain-smoking monkey. I’d have to get my fix.

My point is…there is a latent tempest in you as well.

“Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:” Psalms 139:23

We received a vast honor when God put His Spirit inside us. A spirit that searches our souls.

“The spirit of man [is] the candle of the LORD, searching all the inward parts of the belly.” Proverbs 20:27

What must God see in there? Remember He is love. There must be an undercurrent of unexpressed creativity, passions and unharnessed potential there. Doesn’t it make sense that He’d reveal them to you?

“Thou wilt keep [him] in perfect peace, [whose] mind [is] stayed [on thee]: because he trusteth in thee.” Isaiah 26:3

What if it was just something you need for a season? Is God’s love that big? Big enough to wow us to our core for a moment in time?

“How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them!” Psalms 139:17

The possibilities are endless!

Oil Painted Mountains-001

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

