What Would God Want With My Inbox?

Posted on Updated on

Are you like me? I Google everything and find myself at sites who ask for my email. I get all kinds of different subjects arriving in my inbox everyday. Soaps, paints, recipes, health advice, women’s advice, men’s advice….my goodness I should know everything by now! The other day I was digging through the cluttered piles of new junk mail, looking for an important note from an editor, and got frustrated because I found the note in the trash. “How did it get there?” I wondered as I rescued the traumatized digital file. UCK! How frustrating!

What if God had a newsletter?

computer girl-001

What if God sent an email to your inbox directly from Him? I had a friend once who used to call his prayer time getting his “G-mail.” That meant his God-mail. He invested time getting quiet every morning. He taught me to always have a pen and paper close by.

There are so many things we need to know. Things for our blessing or protection. God has a specific word for me everyday but I have to make time for Him.

Why would we want to do this everyday?

“If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all [men] liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.” James 1:5

God already has blessings and wisdom waiting. Maybe He knows you need to know, that at 10 am that editor will have finally cleared her desk and will be thinking about you. He knows that your child will have forgotten lunch money and want to remind you to give it to her/him. He knows that He loves you and today, you really needed to hear that. God just knows stuff. He has the biggest search engine of all time on any subject personally involved in your life. You are His child, how could He not want to bless you with all the resources of His?

How can we check our (mental) inbox when it’s crammed with other junk mail?

“Thou wilt keep [him] in perfect peace, [whose] mind [is] stayed [on thee]: because he trusteth in thee.” Isaiah 26:3

Learn how to have a stayed mind. This is a very simple process that you’re mind actually craves. It was designed to do one thing at a time so it will love the break from the fifty zillion we usually force on it.

Is there a routine that I can follow, something that will make it easier to do?

Yes, in my book “The 5 Basics for Growth,” Part 1 of the High-Octane Christian Series I teach about how to get quiet and give a sample morning routine. This routine is one that was given to me by a Biblical scholar and is time-tested by many who’ve longed for a more productive quiet-time with God. The Kindle edition of my book is just $2.99. Or if you’d like a hard copy, just email me at terri @ terriporta.com (hopefully my spaces will have tricked the spammers. Lol)

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

