And There I was…

Posted on

heaven-001

****

Every neuron in my brain detonating in synchronized song. I drew a deep ragged breath as the last shred of thought made inquiries to my body. Are you there? Are you alive? What still works? Am I dead now?

“It’s time Terri, you may come with me now.”

“Where am I?”

“Open your eyes.”

Light blinded my pupils as I focused. There stood the Son of the most High God with his hand out to me.

“Jesus?”

“Yes. I’ve come to gather you together with our brothers and sisters. Father wants you all to come home now.”

“Home? You mean…” gulp, “…heaven?”

I looked down at the glowing light in my hands and feet. My veins surged with life quickening spirit instead of blood. I wasn’t standing on solid earth, I stood high above it. Around me other’s smiles of those I’d known in my life and those who had died before me were rejoicing and lifting holy hands. Then another sound blasted. I recognized it. The long and short of a clear tenor horn. Christ Jesus, our risen Lord, lowered the horn from his smile. His crown was radiant, his clothes shimmering and alive. Fire and truth shot from his eyes as HIS triumph descended on my mind. He had come to take us home. I looked around as someone grabbed my hand. I looked over and saw my son, my husband, my mother, my brothers and my family. Then I looked up. We were going there, towards Father. Towards the holiest of holy, the light of all lights. Love washed over me and beckoned me forward…

*****

That was just a taste of what the moment Jesus Christ comes back might be like for us. Sometimes it’s good to think about that moment. It keeps all our priorities in check and brings our decisions into focus. It could happen today, or it could be a thousand years from now.

What are you striving for? What does life mean to you?

If you believed Romans 10:9-10 at any time in your life, you will be there too. I can’t wait and sometimes I like to daydream about it. Here, Paul was dreaming of it too.

“But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope.

For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep (are dead) in Jesus will God bring with him.

For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive [and] remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent (precede) them which are asleep (dead).

For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:

Then we which are alive [and] remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.

Wherefore comfort one another with these words.” 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18

This is for all you who have lost a dear one. My heart goes out to you and I long to comfort you with the everlasting arms of God’s hope. That hope is…we will see them again. And we will have all of eternity with them.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

