Okay, I’ll Get Dressed First…

Posted on Updated on

So many distractions grab my attention in the mornings. I run around cleaning, cooking, and diving into work and my crazy schedule but there’s this nagging thought, did I blog yet today?  Did I dress for success?

calendar-001

That reminds me of a verse in Ephesians.

“And be renewed in the spirit of your mind; And that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness.” Ephesians 4:23-24

I’ve often thought that God would get MY attention about things, so I floated along in life and then I end up frustrated or depressed because things aren’t going my way. The word for “put on” above is an interesting word. In Greek it is, endyō which means putting on clothes or a mental truth like you put on clothes. It is a deliberate action.

To prepare for my day I have to put on my “day clothes”.

This is not a natural event. As a new parent, I didn’t realize I would have to train my kid how to dress himself. Even now, at four, Isaac would rather run around in his footie pajamas all day. Heck…so would I. But as a big boy he must learn to dress himself. He learns to match his clothes, prepare for the weather and dress appropriately. We should think of our walk with God the same way. Have you said good morning to your Father in Heaven? Have you melted His heart by praying in the spirit? Look at some more verses where this Greek word endyō is used.

“The night is far spent, the day is at hand: let us therefore cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armour of light.” Romans 13:12

Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.” Ephesians 6:11

“And have put on the new man, which is renewed in knowledge after the image of him that created him:” Colossians 3:10

With power-filled verses like that God must have something special in mind for the man or woman who does this everyday.

So how about it? Have you dressed in your day clothes of God’s light this morning?

God Bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

