Hold Fast to That Which is Good

1 Thessalonians 5:24: Prove all things; hold fast that which is good.

Being gone for a week is nice, but the “catch up” is stressful. This week, in the midst of the unpacking, reuniting with son and family, and all the new opportunities beginning to present themselves in our lives, I admit I got overwhelmed. Do you know what I mean? It’s the feeling of your blood pressure rising because there’s too much to do and too little time to do it. You feel your heart start race and your temper fuse get short. Suddenly everything that usually is no big deal is a huge deal, and the last blow! LOL!  While I was at the class last week all I did was relax and absorb, it was a vacation! I’m not complaining, being busy is a great problem to have. But what I discovered after jumping back in, was my little pie plate is over-full. Finding out what is a productive use for my time, is never an easy thing for me to discover.

The cranky, stressed and eating too much woman appeared.

Finally yesterday, I went for a walk. I thought about the competition speech I made and the end point to it. Be thankful. Be truly thankful! Then I stopped and began to cry. (Always a sign that this period of stress is over) I am thankful that all these responsibilities are a gift from God, and NOT something he is leaving me all alone to handle. He’s there to help with everything coming down the pipe. But am I willing to let him? Then that wonderful verse floated through my thoughts. 1 Thess. 5:24: Prove all things, hold fast that which is good.

It applies to everything!

I came home from my walk more relaxed, and gave my husband and son a grateful hug. Family and friends are what we get out of this life. Holding fast to the good means being thankful for the eternity we get to spend together. I heard my dear friend Jessica say the other day, “It’s just stuff.” And that is true. Once I put my priorities in place I became much more thankful.

2 Corinthians 4:16-18: (NIV) Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 17: For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. 18: So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

I fell victim to the adversaries oldest trick. I let the storm around me decide my thinking instead of looking, with believing, at the Lord. To prove all things means to take a look at your life, if it isn’t helping you become closer to God, dump it. De-clutter your thinking. Get down to being thankful for what God has done. It says in 1 Thess. 5:18, IN everything give thanks, not FOR everything.  I got my eyes opened when I went to God and asked what all he does to bless me. It’s hard to be thankful for something you aren’t aware of.

Do you remember a time in your life of stress? How did you deal with it? As you’ve gotten past it what did you realize?

Melted by love.

Leave a Reply

