Let’s Hit the Road!

1968 LeSabre Convertible Coupe
Image via Wikipedia

Getting my driver’s license was a much-anticipated event for me. Picturing the uncharted adventure on rubber-treaded rocket-fuel, created a sense of freedom that at fifteen years old I craved, and my father feared. He worried over me, his second oldest and first daughter, behind the wheel of the old family car. This became more obvious as I heard wave after wave of driver’s safety commentary.

My hormone buzzed brain blocked out the parental diatribe, I was just eager to hit the road for my first REAL drive.

I’ll never forget, we left the house that hot summer day in the lemon yellow, 1977 Buick LeSabre. As wide as the dotted lines on the road, we rumbled past all the kids in the neighborhood. I smiled and waved confidently; my father quickly directed my hands back to the wheel. The directions he gave were short and to the point. I couldn’t help noticing his white fingers gripping the armrest as I turned past my high school. He had no need to worry, I thought to myself. I took each turn and neatly applied the turn signals and brakes. I pulled up to our house and carefully aimed our rolling tank between my father’s large delivery truck and the mailbox.

Once home I shrugged off my fathers pestering worries with a snort, and gave the old leviathan some gas. Suddenly feeling the dust blow out of its engine chambers, it roared with life, too much life! The unforgettable sound of metal scraping metal shrieked in our ears. My father let a long low howl as his side slowly climbed higher than mine, up the painted delivery truck. Needless to say he didn’t let me drive again for a while. But I think I was more nervous to drive again than my dad after that experience.

God gave us all freewill for us to choose our own directions in life. But how many times do we as believers place our own mistakes and experiences over what God says? For instance the man who has been poor all his life, has no room in his heart to believe God for wealth and abundance. Or the woman who has been sick for many years and been unsuccessfully treated by the medical community, by all her five senses healing seems impossible. If we haven’t experienced it, it can’t be really available. Unintentionally we let our experiences become the master over the truth, and we end up putting God in a box of expectations and broken promises. In essence we create God in the image we think he is, based on our own life experiences. But may I ask…isn’t that idolatry? Idolatry is when anything takes precedence in front of God in our life. If our experiences do not line up with the truth according to God’s Word, we then have a freewill choice to make.

2 Corinthians 10:5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ. 

“Imaginations” here means reasonings. Or our entire way of “figuring things out”. Which if you really think about how you figure things out, it’s probably the same way your family figured things out. Or maybe how you learned in school or out in the world. Just like the rest of us, you were raised with an outside point of reference that you learned from. How can we do Romans 12:2a: And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind; if we continue to reason along the same lines as the world does? It means you have to choose to believe what the Word says, not our experiences or the world’s reasonings.

3 John 2: Beloved I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in good health.

John 14:6; Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

John 10:10b  I am come that they might have life, and that they might have [it] more abundantly.

These are all truths we can believe about God and his Word. Promises that can make us free if we choose to hit the road with God and never look back.

What experience in your life taught you to be closer to God? I’d love to hear from you! And thank you for stopping by today. You are precious to me and to God. God bless!


Leave a Reply

