Do You Back Up Your Prayers? You Should and Here’s How

I’ve learned tons recently about backing up my hard drive. I especially like to hear talk like this from my banker, stock broker and insurance company, but do you ever back up your prayers? Should you have to? How about when you really stressed?

Stress causes me to look around at the growing stack of bills, then the overflowing laundry, then out to the un-mowed lawn and then to my growing waistline and think, ugh!! This is a great time to take control back, by backing up your prayers. God wants me in control. He gave me free will. Then he gave me Holy Spirit and a brain. Please God, help me write a worthwhile blog post…help me tackle a teaching for some of the most beautiful women in Billings tonight. Help me be encouraged instead of discouraged. All these prayers roam around in Spiritual Cyber Space until I back them up with action. Action puts them into concrete form and then the answers can come to pass anywhere you connect to God. Another way to put it is…

When the Pressure is on…Give.

Give, because it keeps you moving in the forward direction. Matthew 21:22; And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive. Believing is an action word. And action is the cure to procrastination, fear, doubt, worry. If you are believing for something positive to come into your life — give, in that direction. I want to put forth a rockem’ sockem’ blog post so here I am writing. Sure there is laundry; which just went into the dryer by the way, and sure there are other things I could be doing, but my commitment requires continual maintenance. I have to show up. The devil’s tricks are all about luring you away, sucking the motivations out of you and distracting you into putting off the important. But let’s get something straight, no matter what, if I don’t get these things done, I’m still God’s kid and he loves me. That never changes. To beat myself up is the other end of the dangerous cycle and that’s called condemnation. Romans 8:1; There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

Out of love for God I pull myself up although I don’t “feel” like it and act. God loved then he gave as stated in John 3:16; For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.
I act out on the commitments and progress that I’d like to see in my life. Change isn’t just the jingly stuff in your pockets. Change is growth and it is extremely powerful. Why else would the adversary try so hard to talk you out of it? So how about it. What have you been putting off? How can you take action and give in that area?

I’d love to hear your comments.

One thought on “Do You Back Up Your Prayers? You Should and Here’s How”

  1. I’ve been having a VERY busy, active day.. and was called down to check an e.mail…. and then chatted briefly with a young friend on FB, sent a quick message to another… and now reading this am reminded to go finish my piano lesson….All of this fitting in very nicely with your blog….. pray your week will be all you would have it to be….

Leave a Reply

