Can Spiritual Sweat = Physical Blessings?

Have you ever heard the phrase?

Vertical sweat makes way for a smoother more blessed life horizontally. God is in this relationship with you to bless and protect you. Relationships take two people and are most healthy when both give to it. God is not an ATM. Don’t misunderstand me, there’s a powerful thing called grace and mercy that come into play, but now I want to talk about everyday, good old-fashioned peace. The deep, lasting peace that comes from knowing you are doing, and believing the right things.

If I spend time every morning reading God’s word and praying for my life, I have a far more peaceful day. Emergencies may come, bad news may show its ugly face, but I don’t worry. God has my back. He helps me keep everything in perspective. Even Jesus Christ worked on his relationship with his Father.  

“And in the morning, raising up a great while before day, he went out and departed into a solitary place and there prayed. A little later Simon and the rest of the boys came looking for him, when they found him Jesus says, in verse 38, Let us go in the next towns, that I may preach there also: for therefore came I forth.” Mark 1:35

He saying this is the reason for my ministry, to preach the Word. How do you think he decided to do that? God revealed it to him while he was praying. He and his Father were on talking terms all the time.

Another great example of this is David in Psalms;

“When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches. Now that’s spiritual sweat equity there.” Psalms 63:6;

“How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! How great is the sum of them! 18; If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee.” Psalms 139:17

How about the evidence in Ananais’s life?

“And there was a certain disciple at Damascus, named Ananias; and to him said the Lord in a vision, Ananias. And he said, Behold, I am here, Lord.” Acts 9:10

Disciple is the word for “disciplined one”. Why would God give out that nickname? Because he disciplined himself everyday to go to God, and he said, “I am here Lord”. He then proceeded to have a conversation with God and be a little skeptical of the task laid before him. But then he decided to do God’s will and the outcome was Paul and all the Epistles/Letters he wrote in the Bible. God knew Ananias could be trusted because he/Ananais was already investing that vertical sweat with God.

How many of us are ready to earn that kind of trust from God?

How many are willing to just love him so much that at the moment our brain grinds into gear in the morning, we thank him and want to talk to him? How many of us are willing to set aside our preconceived notions and ideas and believe for amazing miracles to happen? It takes a very big person to want those things.

Or how about Paul and Timothy’s conversation?

“Wherefore I put thee in remembrance that thou stir up the gift of God, which is in thee by the putting on of my hand.” 2 Timothy 1:6

This is plainly asking Timothy to do his part concerning this gift of God. He was asking him to keep putting in the effort. Don’t give up!  Stir it up! We have to stir it up, and when we do God comes through with the most mind-boggling events, just to bless us.  I leave you with this,

“But without faith (or believing; which is an action word) it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.” Hebrews 11:6

He will reward you and that is a promise!

 

God Bless You Today!

 

2 thoughts on “Can Spiritual Sweat = Physical Blessings?”

Leave a Reply

