What Are You Becoming?

A male (bull) with a baby (calf) giraffe, Gira...

Are you wondering if that’s a trick question?

At five-years-old I had huge expectations of life and I mean huge, but they were unrealistic. For instance when someone asked me, “Terri, what do you want to be when you grow up?” I remember replying with all my five-year old bravado, “A giraffe!” I hated being too little, and a giraffe has a better view-point.

Fast forward ten years and that answer was, “I want to travel the world and help people!” I didn’t know what that would entail, being a missionary was my first thought. In highschool, I did traveled to Mexico twice. A  youth outreach mission program changed my thinking forever about the world around me and the conditions people are living in daily. Let’s fast forward a few more years, the answer to the question resounded, “I want to have a family and to settle down.” How blessed I feel to have all that and more!

Now, I spend my days considering my family’s future and all the wonderful opportunities ahead and I hope I will never have to grow up! Aren’t you glad that we can believe for goals and dreams? I know I am, though frankly, I’m glad that the giraffe idea didn’t work out. How awkward, right?

Dreams and goals take focused effort. They take time, commitment, money and many other resources. Resources you wonder how you’ll be able to give. You may not realize that God was working long ago to bring something into your life today. For me writing is part of my “becoming” process. It’s a craft. Any craft takes time and effort to master. I didn’t realize this seed germinated in me while spending hours in the library reading or working especially hard on a journal entry, that no one would ever read.

What am I saying? Life is a journey. You don’t “arrive”, until you meet Jesus Christ in the air, and then that is just the very first moments in the rest of eternity! This journey is full of opportunities and moments that ask us to shine. Sometimes they’ll show up when we are not feeling very shiny. God’s Word puts it this way, Philippians 1:6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.

4 Tips on the Art of Becoming.

  1. Live 100% in the now! Here’s a great quote, “The moment you’re waiting for may never arrive; the one you just missed will never return. Becoming isn’t about a destination, it’s about living full force, with the pedal down now. Be here, and be open to what God has to teach you now. Ephesians 2:19; Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellow citizens with the saints, and of the household of God.
  2. Admit when you need to change your thinking. “The greatest of all faults is to imagine that you don’t have one.” Ephesians 4:23-24; And be renewed in the spirit of your mind, and that ye put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness.
  3. Don’t hang on to old regrets and bitterness. Travel light. It’s a better way to grow. Hebrews 12:13; Looking diligently lest any man fail of the grace of God; lest any root of bitterness springing up trouble you, and thereby many be defiled.
  4. Master your tongue! Remember, letting the cat out of the bag is easier than getting it back in. When you speak, put love into every word.  1 Peter 3:10; For he that will love life, and see good days, let him refrain his tongue from evil, and his lips that they speak no guile (bitterness).

You are very precious to God and He isn’t through with you. As a songwriter friend of mine once told my husband, “You haven’t written your best song yet.” And the songs he has written are amazing! Be encouraged because your best days are still ahead of you!

What did you want to be when you grew up? Did you get there? I’d love to read your comments.

2 thoughts on “What Are You Becoming?”

Leave a Reply

