Task Vs. Goal; What Kind of Leader are You?

Ephesians 2:19; And are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief corner [stone];

pretty garden, pretty garden, pretty garden......

This verse shows us that God achieved his goal of making Jesus Christ the cornerstone of our salvation. He built on that from there with apostles and prophets and is still building. My question today is…what do you think His goals are now? Is it laid out in the Word?

Jeremiah 29:11-13; For I know the thoughts (plans) that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts (plans for) of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. 12. Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. 13. And ye shall seek me, and find [me], when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

Task vs. Goal

When I look at the step right in front of me, I find myself looking down a lot. When I’m looking up at a long-term goal, I am looking up and asking God if that goal is available. If it is, I’m constantly checking to see where I should go next.

A task can take you on a wild goose chase. But a goal can free you from the tyranny of distraction and steady you. What kind of leader are you? Do you help your people make long-term goals, or do you give them task after task to keep them busy?

Which way is better?

 

Related articles

215

2 thoughts on “Task Vs. Goal; What Kind of Leader are You?”

Leave a Reply

