How Do You Stop a Bully?

I have a different subject on my heart this morning that I feel I should talk about and that’s bullying.

I have heard talk-show hosts, teachers and news anchors lately give the subject a thorough run through, but have not heard any of them point to the real crux of the situation. They give advice but don’t really know how to stop a bully.

If you stand outside the rigid mold of our culture’s acceptable standard of behavior, you get social cues from those around you that set you straight. Social Cues come from all directions in our culture. Some are healthy, some are not. When you walk into a health club, the cue is, get fit, get strong. When you walk into a college classroom the cue is learn, and get smart! When you walk into a bar….. you get my point.

It’s natural to crave social interaction and cues.

One of the five basics of growth is to fellowship with like-minded believers. Bullying is not fellowship. Fellowship is a full heart sharing between two people. Bullying by definition cannot even be friendship. Bullying is one-sided, pointed and harmful. But what is bullying?

Manipulation? Peer pressure? Fake friendship? Condescension? Intimidation? Control? Yes. All of these and more.

More importantly where does it come from?

1 Samuel 17:10-11 Then (Goliath) the Philistine said, “This day I defy the ranks of Israel! Give me a man and let us fight each other.” On hearing the Philistine’s words, Saul and all the Israelites were dismayed and terrified.

Goliath worked for God’s enemy the Devil. He put fear into the heart of God’s children. Goliath was a bully. But we all know how that story ends. David as a very young man took five round stones and killed the giant. Who did David work for? God.

The Devil is a bully.

How do you get rid of a bully in your life? Get rid of the source of the bully. Spiritual realities are invisible to humans but they are still very much a reality. They motivate actions and inspire feelings.

If you don’t agree that the Devil is the god of this world, like it says in 2 Cor. 4:4; look around. How much peer pressure and fear motivation do you see in a half hour of T.V.? Watch the Jack Links beef jerky commercials and tell me that the bullying there isn’t wrong. Our society thrives on the constant put-down, the peer pressure that what you believe isn’t the right thing to believe, what you stand up for isn’t the right thing to stand for. Christians have a long history of not fitting into the “popular” mold. Strife, confusion, envy, manipulation, where does all that come from? The adversary. How do you get rid of the Devil in your life?

James 4:7 Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

When you allow God to run the show in your life and resist the devil, he will flee. God also gave you power to deal with the spiritual forces at work behind the scenes.

Jesus told his disciples in Mark 16:17; And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues.

If my son goes to school and gets picked on by a bully, my first call would be to God, not to the teacher. I would ask God how to deal with it, because I know the real battle we are in. A battle even children are influenced by. A spiritual battle.

We need to let people know when we see this crop into everyday situations. I should tell you, I wrote an email to the Jack Link’s company about their ads. They need some social cues to direct the behavior into a healthier place. I am asking you to contact them as well and any other company you see promoting the bullying in our culture. It’s part of resisting. Someone has to stand against the long-term collateral damage of this behavior. Who will you be?

 

Jack Links “Contact us” is a link on the bottom of the page.

 

5 thoughts on “How Do You Stop a Bully?”

  1. This is my letter that I sent to the Jack Links company about their ads for anyone interested. Hopefully we will see some improvement there.
    ****************************************************************************
    I have a comment, or rather a complaint. Our culture is effected by the tactics of national ad promotion and branding. In a country focusing on coping with the amped up severity of bullying your ads fuel the bullying flame. Yes, I realize your charactor wins in the end, but what message are you sending with the baiting and condescending tone of them? I’ve seen these commercials over and over. They always lure the beast then hurt him then he gets mad and retaliates. Is this the message we want our kids to continue seeing? I know of cases where children get bullied in the same lurid trap then get hurt and can’t retaliate, because they aren’t big and mean. Please I’m asking you to reconsider your promotions and ask what you would do if three friends ganged up on you. No matter your size it would be frightening. It’s not funny anymore, it’s getting downright sick. Please remove this campaign. I know I will not be buying anymore of your delicious product until I see them stop. And I will be telling my friends and audience how I feel. Thank you for your time, Terri Porta

    ************************
    I did recieve a letter in response but noticed that I cannot make it public because they will not allow me to copy it without their “express permission”. Permission I did not receive. I can sum it up however.

    They thanked me for my time…and said they’d tell their marketing department about the complaint.

    It sounded like a form letter to me. If you send one too, you’ll see what I mean. Maybe we should compare notes.

    Terri Porta

Leave a Reply

