What is the First Thing?

Ephesians 4:2; With all lowliness and meekness, with longsuffering, forbearing one another in love.

 

Here we are in the first after the transition and what is God telling us? How to treat each other. Do you want a shortcut on this one? (Because there is one)

First I’d like to tell you a little story. When I was 7 or 8 years old. My Mom used to get on us kids for arguing. Having three other siblings one being a sister gives you good practice in keeping the peace, or starting the wars, which ever way you’d like to go there. If you have siblings you know what I mean. What? We were kids!

Hey come on, this is my story!

Brothers

Anyway, being part of a family isn’t always easy but there is a lot to be thankful for. My memory is a little hazy but we decided one day to get on the rocky roof of a neighbor’s house and throw rocks down at their really mean dogs. (don’t worry, we were bad aim) This was a pair of dogs no one in the neighborhood liked and we thought of ourselves as hero’s triumphing over evil. That being said, witnesses saw us up there, and of course they didn’t need fingerprinting to know which four kids were throwing big decorative white rocks (evidence) down into the back yard. Looking back at this I laugh because it was really stupid and didn’t work. Not to mention that we all got lined up for our punishment. I distinctly remember my dad being madder than @!*)… And my older brother took the rap but we were all accused of the crime. After that day I didn’t ever want to get in trouble again and I still don’t remember whose idea it was, but I’m very thankful my big brother stood up for us.

We all have that kind of big brother too, in Jesus Christ. Out of thankfulness for what he did we should follow this verse. But here’s the shortcut if you need it. Ask God, “What can I do to bless….?” This is an amazing shortcut because to successfully operate it you have to humble yourself. Not an easy thing sometimes, but always worth it!! Have a great day blessing your brothers and sisters in Christ!

6 thoughts on “What is the First Thing?”

  1. It is such a blessing to be a blessing. If you don’t believe me then try it and see. It becomes habit forming and and you start looking for people to bless. That is who the Lord wants us to be.

Leave a Reply

