Potato Power, Wife Beaters and Love

Ephesians 5:22; Wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as unto the Lord.

Scene: My 2nd garden ever, my 1st potato patch ever.

Tremors of annoyance coursed through me as I watched my mate lean down over the row of potato plants. It is my garden after all why does he think he knows everything? He smiled up at me and then saw the glimmer of anger and the frown on my face.

“What’s wrong?” he asked.

“You’re wrong. That’s what’s wrong.”

“No, I’ve planted lots of potatoes in my day, you have to dig them out with a shovel.”

“That doesn’t make sense. You have to pull them by the stalks.”

“They are too heavy and the stalks will break. Trust me, I know what I’m doing.”

“No. You don’t.”

“Okay, I’ll harvest one plant my way and you yours and we’ll see who ends up with more potatoes.”

Later, I sat without a single potato, I was more angry now because he was right. Until he brought me a dirty beautiful potato and said, “Okay, so this is what we call potato power. Who ever has the potato has the power.”  It melted me because it was the crux of my problem. The control freak in me didn’t like being wrong.

Ephesians 5:22 is an amazing and loving verse. Why? Like anything in the Word we have to look for God’s love in it.

Submission is the Greek word hypotasso= loving obedience, by proper arrangement and deliberate decision. 

This is an act of freewill by the woman to her own husband as unto the Lord. I know the husbands out there are cheering right now, but I’d like to point something out. It’s her choice to submit not yours. If she sees an abuse of this leadership role, then it is also her choice to stick it out. (Keep in mind that nobody’s perfect) There are two kinds of leaders…to read more about that click here. Remember the verse from yesterday?

Galatians 3:28; There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one (equal) in Christ Jesus. (Chauvinism, on either side of male or female, is off the Word.)

If your husband is abusing you and using Ephesians 5:22 to keep you in line you should know it is wrong. It is by your free will deliberate decision that he gets to lead you. (Tomorrow’s verse shows us how) Why would God be okay with one of his children being abused, manipulated and scarred for life? Why would he be okay with error and twisting of the sound truth? God is empowering  women here not making us captives. When this was written, Paul was taking a huge chance because the culture was not “feminine rights friendly.” The men of that day had to be upset that Paul told their women they had a choice. Isn’t it ironic that now it’s being used and translated in the exact opposite way? Wife beaters beware; God freed those in bondage of any kind.

On the other hand;

What is the healthy side to this?

Love. We obey God out of love. That same love motivates us–of our own freewill– to pray and ask God what to do to bless our spouses. Love is the greatest motivator in the universe. It can help us look past a quirky habit or fault. It can help us heal a wounded heart and lift a fellow believer–your spouse–to new heights in their walk. If you want to have a great marriage walk in God’s Love towards your spouse. When you’re not sure what to do next go back to God and ask. He knows what is just the right thing to say to change everything.

God bless you today! I’d love to hear more discussion on this topic. Leave me a comment if you’ve ever been given the potato power.

 


10 thoughts on “Potato Power, Wife Beaters and Love”

  1. Submission is the Greek word hypotasso= loving obedience, by proper arrangement and deliberate decision …… Being taught this truth changed dramatically my walk with God and my attitude towards women …. not that it was ever bad … it just got better.

    1. Yes! Exactly. I love that word as well because the loving obedience can not be without proper arrangement or a deliberate decision. It’s a wonderful definition that also helped me with this verse. I got submission rammed down my throat so much in the past I was starting to become a chauvanist about men. That is until I learned about hypotasso. Great comment! I look forward to many more in the future! God bless!

Leave a Reply

