A Bomb, A Rescue, and Joy

I was upset.

Annoyed.

Cranky.

Did I say annoyed?

Ugh…

Piles of folded laundry on my bed–the tenth load–waited for me with the patience of a ticking neutron bomb. I was about to defuse the situation when I heard the pitter-patter of little feet and a loud peal of laughter. Instantly, I knew. I could already see the evidence spilling out the doorway. Tiny shirts and pj’s contorted in awkward positions as they flew from his eager hands.

My son set off the laundry bomb.

All that hard work and right at my bedtime. I was upset, annoyed and cranky. Afterall… I’d been folding alllllll day. That bed held the key to my de-crankification process…sleep! And now I have to spend another half hour folding it all over again. Ugh!

“Isaac go sit in the hall and do not move!” I pointed, using every piece of artillary in my arsenal. You know the “Stink-eye,” “Mom-tone,” Hairy Eye-Ball” and the dreaded “Pointer-of-Punishment.”

He watched as I gathered the splattered shrapnel of socks, undies, and used fabric softener sheets.

Then Daddy entered the hall. All I heard was “Hi there!” in my son’s sweet happy tone. (Or translated by me: Oh thank God you’re here Dad, because Mommy is really mad at me.)

 1 Thessalonians 1:6; And ye became followers of us, and of the Lord, having received the word in much affliction, with joy of the Holy Ghost.

This word “affliction” here is translated pressure, or pressing together, like a pressure cooker. Imagine the pressure that my son felt, and then–in contrast–the joy of seeing my husband there to possibly rescue him. Now, raise that emotion to-scale in your life. Here you are having fun and then you get in big trouble. The kind that binds you down and sucks the joy out. This can happen in all five areas of our lives; relationships, finances, physical health, mental health, spiritual health. We are trucking along down a path that looks okay, then BLAMO trouble comes as it always does. The pressure builds and you think you might pass out from it.

There are three distinct reactions to hearing the truth of the Word as told in Acts 17:32-24. Some mock it. Some say, that’s nice I’ll hear you again later about this matter, and some cling to it. The Thessalonians here, clung to it even though they were feeling pressure or affliction. They realized they were in a pressure cooker but believed the truth anyways. They had joy, just like my son felt, at the thought of a rescue; but in their case it was a rescue.

I ask you this. How do you hear the Word? Do you see it as a rescue? Do you see it as a relief from the crazy world around you and the pressures it hits you with? Do you receive it with joy?

1 Thessalonians 2:13; For this cause also thank we God without ceasing, because, when ye received the word of God which ye heard of us, ye received [it] not [as] the word of men, but as it is in truth, the word of God, which effectually worketh also in you that believe.

God is blessing you today with a way out of the turmoil. Have a joyful day today grabbing hold of that truth.

2 thoughts on “A Bomb, A Rescue, and Joy”

Leave a Reply

