Where Are Your Thoughts Taking You?

Expectations

I will never forget the night I went into labor with my son. Bill and I were expecting inducement of our little guy, so that’s what I’d prepared myself mentally for. The first round of drugs got everything ready to go, and contractions were coming steadily every 15 to 20 minutes. They gave me plenty of sleeping drugs too, so I could sleep through those little contractions. We had it all planned out.

It did not go as planned.

It went better than planned! Ha! At 3:30 a.m., my water broke, and it was a quick 2 hours later that I was holding my son. If I had to custom design a labor and delivery, this would be the kind I would ask for.

How many of us are planning for the worst? How about for the best? Do we even think that far ahead? Lol! God does. I’ve caught myself so many times saying, “Okay, plan for the worst scenario, if something better happens well then great, God bless! At least I was prepared.”

Tell me–Where is my believing taking me with that attitude? To the worst that could ever happen. Right!

What should I be doing?

Going to God getting the plan from him, then believing it to the end of my ability. If something bad happens, go back to God then kicking the devil’s butt until it happens the way God wants it to happen. Right! Lol! Not just roll over and let the devil dictate how things are done. Not in my life!

Our next verse in Thessalonians talks about this similar attitude. Unbelievers get it all figured out with the best information their five senses can tabulate. Then the worst thing does happen, and they have no spiritual defense against it.

“For when they (unbelievers) shall say, Peace and safety; then sudden destruction cometh upon them, as travail upon a woman with child; and they shall not escape. But ye, brethren, are not in darkness, that that day should overtake you as a thief.” 1 Thessalonians 5:3-4;

Can we agree, that the gathering together is the best thing that could ever happen to someone, besides getting born again? What if it happened tomorrow? Or today? All our best laid plans are only shadows next to God’s greater plan for our life. What if we went to him with a heart to believe what he says? Actually believe it? What if we did this in every area, not just with The Hope? Doubt is a gateway thought to worry, then to fear. But what would happen if we believed God instead?

Instead of believing; people are thinking the worst of you, think this verse and believe it.

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things [are] honest, whatsoever things [are] just, whatsoever things [are] pure, whatsoever things [are] lovely, whatsoever things [are] of good report; if [there be] any virtue, and if [there be] any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4:8

Instead of believing; God wants you to pay penance for your sins, think this verse and believe it.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us [our] sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  1 John 1:9;

Instead of believing; there is no joy in your life, think and believe this verse.

“Thy words were found, and I did eat them; and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart: for I am called by thy name, O LORD God of hosts.” Jeremiah 15:16

Instead of wondering; if you’ll ever get ahead, think and believe this verse!

“But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Phil. 4:19

Instead of thinking; you’ll always be defeated, think this verse and believe it!

“Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.” Romans 8:37

Instead of wondering; when the other “proverbial shoe” is going to drop, believe and think this verse!

“Now thanks [be] unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of his knowledge by us in every place.” 2 Corinthians 2:15

Where are your thoughts taking you? Are they taking you back to the Word of God? God loves you and HE causes us to triumph over circumstances of this world. Believe this, train your brain to think it, and it will happen for you!

Leave a Reply

