Quench Not the Spirit

“Quench not the Spirit.” 1 Thessalonians 5:19

First, I need to apologize to you. I grew up in a religion without any understanding of the Holy Spirit field. I was taught from a young age that I am not supposed to talk, read, or do any of the nine manifestations; especially that “tongues thing.” When I left home, I had a lot of choices to make about God. I considered myself a tough nut to crack. When people presented me with religious stuff, I didn’t just sit and take it. They had to prove it to me. Little did I know, that’s what I’d been doing my entire life. God doesn’t change. I had read the same scriptures over and over, and never understood them. I even shook my fist at God on occasion, asking Him, “Why isn’t my need met God?” “What do I need to do to get closer to you?” “Why aren’t you intervening in this situation Lord?”

Finally, I gave up my stubborn pride. I considered the role of the Holy Spirit field in the framework of the Word. Only then have I seen real results, real deliverance, real consistency and real answers to prayer. Here’s my apology, I’m sorry, I wasn’t fully convinced that God’s gift included all nine powerful operations of His Spirit. This is what I’ve concluded, the more I soak myself in God’s Word, the less I can condone even the smallest, of my trained from a youngster, doubts about the gift of holy spirit and its validity. If I leave it out, I sell the Word of God short. God doesn’t sell it short I do. If I leave it out, the Word falls to pieces, and I lack deliverance and understanding. I decided I can no longer, in good conscience, do that. It’s the whole Word of God, not just a verse or two here or there. On that note let’s look at today’s amazing verse.

Yesterday we unlocked, using a figure of speech, a treasure chest of gems!

Today, we find ourselves in the company of yet another figure of speech called Metonymy. Its meaning is; a person or thing (a noun) acting for (in place of) the thing done. In this verse’s case the Holy Spirit/God is put in the place of, the manifestations of the Spirit.

 “Quench not the Spirit.”  (vs 19)

A natural mortal man could never extinguish a spiritual light. So there has to be a figure here. Therefore the manifestations are “quenched” when someone of higher authority, or assuming a position of higher authority, forbids the usage of the manifestations. The very next sentence speaks to an example of how this is to be obeyed.

Despise not prophesyings. (vs. 20) (Despise, is the word for “make a mockery of” prophesy which is only one of the nine manifestations)

 The next verse and the reason for my apology above is;

Prove all things; hold fast that which is good. (vs. 21)

Dear believer and cherished child of God we prove, expecting a positive outcome (dokimazo), all things and then hold firmly to that which is good. What is wrong with believing in a gift that empowers us mightily against our adversary? Nothing! Why did I constantly try to leave out this wonderful truth? There is only one answer. Error. I thought I was believing the whole Word. I was believing error.

“We are of God: he that knoweth God heareth us; he that is not of God heareth not us. Hereby know we the spirit of truth, and the spirit of error.” (1 John 4:6)

This is why Paul exhorts us to prove all things. The spirit of error is a sneaky evil that feeds on a common fear of the unknown. We have to discern the truth from the error. We have to stand for the Word in its entirety and yearn to hold fast to the good. God’s goodness, God’s truth.

“For the word of God [is] quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and [is] a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

How could it do this if I didn’t acknowledge the entirety of it? Folks, I have now acknowledged it and embraced its powerful accuracy. God’s Word is God’s Will and he longs for his people to worship him in Spirit.

“And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” John 8:32

I can’t go back and unlearn the truth. I’ve tried in the past, but it doesn’t work that way. It makes you free.

Come with me! Embrace your freedom in God’s miraculous power and change your world with it!

God bless you!

One thought on “Quench Not the Spirit”

Leave a Reply

