5 Tips for Making More Time

The protagonist was enduring her darkest hour. Forces formed against her and it seem as though the bad guys would win the terrible struggle.

This was my mindset last week when my two-year old son walked into my office. I had re-written a book I began last year, starting from page one and was on word 64k and day 20. I hardly noticed him picking up pencils, twirling rubber bands, opening the stapler and finally I turned, when a short stack of books came toppling over onto me. “ISAAC!”

He looked at me, smiled, and said, “Hi mama, oh I yuv you!” and reached up to give my neck a tight squeeze. My arched right eyebrow and towering annoyance melted into a big pile of Mommy-gooh. How could I resist? I’d been working too hard for too long and I knew it. I reached down and pulled him on my lap. He grabbed my cheeks and puckered for a big kiss and then smiled. “How you?” he asked.

My struggling protagonist, Charlotte yelled from the screen, “Hey, I’m dying here. Could use a little help!”

“Whaz at?” he asked and his eyes darted up and to the left as he listened. An ambulance was sounding its siren by our street. His little eyebrows furrowed and he grabbed my hand. “God, name of Jesus Christ, dane duu for — happy, and better and owies bye, bye. Amen.”

It’s our habit to pray for people when we hear sirens, and we live close to an arterial street. They come by many times a day. In fact I’m hearing one now. Habits can be our best friends. Sometimes making new ones is the best way to force, spare time into your schedule.

“The LORD shall open unto thee his good treasure, the heaven to give the rain unto thy land in his season, and to bless all the work of thine hand: and thou shalt lend unto many nations, and thou shalt not borrow.” Deuteronomy 28:12

  1. We all get 24 hours. Chart out how you spend yours for an entire week. It will amaze you when you see open slots of time.
  2. God knows what your priorities and schedule is, He figured out the seasons, and He’s a genius at figuring out how much time is too much on one project, or too little on another. He knows everyone’s heart too. He’ll help you with who in your life needs more of your time without stressing you out. God is the greatest “Day Planner.”
  3. You only need to get done today, what needs to be done today. This is a statement I live by. God knows my long-term goals. When I do the above tips, the day fills up in blocks of blessings.
  4. Allow for flexibility. Some trees don’t bloom till the end of spring, but they also don’t lose their leaves till the end of fall. Aren’t they beautiful when they are the last morsel of summer after everything is already tucked away for the cold winter. You are in your own season, so don’t compare yourself to others.
  5. Allow others to walk with God in your walk. My son reminded me to pray. He also reminded me to keep my priorities in check.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

