:001 The Power of Prayer

Why do we pray? Should we always get our prayers answered? Is God even paying attention? Is there a way to do it right? Why do some people get answers all the time and others none of the time? Is our method of prayer like a windmill drawing up clean clear water or is it broken and rusted. Should we expect it to work if it is? I’ve been taught six concepts that when applied, help the believer get solid results from their prayer. I’d like to spend a few days delving into the subject, because just like any basic, prayer should be easy and with the right training it is.

The first concept is something we do in every other area of life except, unfortunately, with God. How many times do we take our grocery list of needs to the Father, yet doubt that He will supply them? We don’t take that attitude with anything else. In the world we automatically realize that if we need something, we have to find out;

What is Available?

I had this happen with my brother. He’s out of country, and I am not expecting to see him again for a year. I’ve accepted that in my life. Then, today, he messaged me and said, I’ll call you on Skype. This morning I had a wonderful, face to face conversation via video chat, with my brother. I had to know what was available. Now, I am enjoying that blessing.

It works that way with God who knows everything. We need to find out what is available from Him and what is not available from God. For instance;

“Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth.” 3 John 2

The will of God is that we prosper and be in good health. It is never God’s will for a believer to run around poverty-stricken or sick! Poverty and sickness are never glorifying to God. If God put it in His Word in black and white, it must be available.

Let’s look at another example:

“But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

God’s will is to supply all your need. This means your physical, emotional, mental, relationship, and most importantly spiritual needs. And this is according to His riches and glory, not ours. It says in Psalms 24:1a that, “The earth [is] the LORD’S, and the fulness thereof.” He is never slack in His provision of our need, and as technology changes those blessings grow expidentually.

Look at this one in 2 Corinthians 9:8;

“And God [is] able to make all grace abound toward you; that ye, always having all sufficiency in all [things], may abound to every good work.

How will we have all sufficiency in all things if it is not accessible to us?

“That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man.” Ephesians 3:16

How are we going to be strengthened with might by His spirit in the inner man if it is not at all possible?

I can only apply the principles of the Word, if I know what they are, and know what is available. I cannot go further than I am led, and I cannot operate and obtain the promises that I do not know. The only way we can know these is by going to the Word of God.

After we find out, what is available from God’s Word, the next thing we need to know is; how do we receive it? That will be the post for tomorrow.

Later today, I will be posting–here on this post–some exercises you can use to find out what is available in your specific situation. Look for the link here and on the following posts.

Here is the document link I promised. Have fun with it!

Promises Flyer

God Bless You today!

Read next posts in this series. (Links open in new window.)

:002 How Can I Get a Miracle?

:003 Procedure is No Laughing Matter

:004 Tipping the Scales in Prayer

:005 The Final Blow to the Devil

15 thoughts on “:001 The Power of Prayer”

Leave a Reply

