Smuggling God into Your Job

I used to work at a job with such spiritual darkness it was intimidating to be a Christian. Why, in this land of religious freedom, should we have to hide God under a bushel? Or wrap him in our brown lunch bag? Well–something changed for me one day at work. Something so drastic that I never ever hidden Him at my office job again. Hold on, we’ve all met the Bible pounders, pushers and thumpers, and I’m not talking about that. I’m talking about something else.

Let me give you some background and then I’ll lay out what changed.

First, I talked with my pastor. I wanted to learn more about discerning of spirits. I knew God was pointing me in a new direction and I wanted all He could teach me. Discerning of spirits is one of the nine manifestations. It is powerful and just like the other eight, operated on guidance from God. Here is the technical definition.

  • Discerning of spirits is your operation of the God-given ability to receive from God by revelation, awareness of the presence or non-presence and identity of spirits, good or evil.

The Devil is the god of this world as 2 Corinthians says. He offered all the power and dominion up to Jesus Christ while he was tempting him in the desert. How could he give something that was not his? It is his, delivered to him by Adam. When the Devil fell from heaven, a third of the angels fell to Earth with him. Now, they’re here making life difficult for the human race. He intimidates Christians who do not know how to use their power and authority, so they’ll never learn. We know by reading the Word that the Devil wanted to be like the most high God. He yearn to be worshiped, adored and even have his own children.

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high [places].” Ephesians 6:12

How did the Devil get to be a ruler in this world? Adam lost dominion when he disobeyed God. Now, thanks to Jesus Christ, we never lose our Holy Spirit. It’s ours for eternity. We can always win because “greater is He that is in us than he (the devil) that is in the world.”

Here is an analogy that helps make it fit. God owns the world just like a landlord owns a property. He leased it out to Adam and Eve, who then sublet it to the devil. In America, a landlord cannot come onto a property and start moving things around without the permission of the tenant. There are legal consequences for that. God is more just than our rules and legislature. But with the authority of Jesus Christ, we now have the right to pray and ask God to work here on our behalf. Doesn’t that help so much!

If this were not true, then why do we have to pray at all? Why would God ask us to pray without ceasing? God knows everything right? Can’t He just come in and take care of it? Why did Jesus say pray in my name? Why was he our propitiation? None of it makes sense unless you see that God is just. He never overrides our freewill and He never tramples our rights and privileges. The devil, however, does it all the time.

Now back to smuggling God to work. We are not doormats for the devil. We have the right to live an abundant, peaceful life. But we have to claim that life with the authority God gave us through Jesus Christ.

Here’s how: Ask God, God is there anything I can do to make my day better at work today?

At the job I mentioned above, He showed me a mental picture of a fiery ring around my desk. So I prayed, “God I claim for a fiery ring around my desk in the name of Jesus Christ.” God may show you a different thing or give you a different idea completely, but you claim for it to be so, in the name of Jesus Christ. Then watch what happens. I was amazed that day. The ring went around me and partly out into the hall. Some of the worst drama kings and queens were tiptoeing on the edge of that ring all day, and not doing anything to me. There were also some who came in and sat on my desk in relief. Both actions were different from any I’d ever seen before. My day overflowed with peace, joy and excitement. Everyday since then, I’ve done similar things when God shows me to. God never fails to give some answer about what I’m dealing with. Here’s what I figured out, we have this tool in our tool belt, why not use it? Why not get good at living a victorious life!? Why not stump the Devil at his own game? The only way you can know what to do next in this situation is by asking God, who is Spirit, about the Devil, who is spirit. Fight fire with fire, so to speak. If I don’t ask God, I’m just another frail and handicapped human lacking in spiritual understanding. But with God;

Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore.” Ephesians 6:13-14a

Treat each time like the first time and enjoy God’s blessing and protection today.

God Bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

