Are You Married to an Idea Generator?

My husband is an “Idea Generator.” He’s amazing! If he sees a business idea that has potential all his years of business knowledge work together to bring it to life. I love ideas especially big ones, but I tend to get caught up in the “here’s reality” check-list. What happens when we women (I know I’m not the only one) throw a wrench in the gears of idea generation? How can we be supportive and creative at the same time?

“A faithful man shall abound with blessings: but he that maketh haste to be rich shall not be innocent.” Prov. 28:23

First, 3 Tips for the ladies “reality” check-list;

  1. Have Healthy Expectations: I did not marry, date, and nor could I handle the emotional strain of courting a “Prince Charming.” That guy is a diva. Nor did he/my significant other, sweep a Victoria Secret’s princess off her perch. I am a person with a real life, real problems, real issues and REAL love.
  2. Understanding the definition of submission: Submission is the Greek word hypotasso= “loving obedience, by proper arrangement and deliberate decision.” All this is done in the LORD. This means we have a choice. We are not slaves browbeaten into a behavior by manipulation, guilt, or a blatant disregard for our human rights. We do not hurt those we love. Obedience to our husband, comes when he has the proper arrangement and submitted himself to God. Isn’t that simple and beautiful, but even then it’s still your choice. If the greatest commandment is to Love God. What could be our greatest sin or missing of the mark? Not loving God. I’m giving you ladies permission to take a stand for yourselves, and take a stand for God. What does love have to do with it? We love God by obeying His commands to love others with the Love of God. Didn’t that just get 100% easier? If your husband loves you with the Love of God, agape, your heart is melted, you are totally aligned and excited about doing anything he/your husband, has planned because you know he checked in, or will check in with the Father on it.
  3. Pride Stops Traffic: Pride is the wrench in the gears. God wants you and your husband to have the abundant life together. If your husband is checking in and getting a brilliant new idea from the Father, that will take you a new direction, your pride and lack of checking in with God will stop the flow. Stop and check in with God before you do or say anything. If God isn’t working in the situation, ask how to tactfully support your husband. No one gets it right 100% of the time.

We women love security. LOVE IT! We need it, follow it, and get very cranky without it. Why? Because, to change metaphors, God gave us this desire to nest-build and when something comes along that threatens our nest, we get angry. If God gave us this desire, and the women of old lived in tents as nomadic societies, then there must be a perspective about it that we’re missing. If my idea generating man is off following his dream and not checking in about it that tips the nest financially, emotionally, and physically. It bites! The devil knows this too. He knows you need security. He aims to provide it temporarily. So, he gets us looking in all the wrong directions to find it. He’ll make us feel like your man is failing us or puts divisive thinking in our minds. He gets us trusting in the temporal things. Things that won’t last, or don’t really matter. What should our security be in?

“But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Phil. 4:19

Do we need security? Yes. Did God say He’d supply all our need? Yes. Then is security one of our needs? Do we believe in God or man? Do we walk by the spirit or by the flesh? This is a challenge at first and still gives me fits. I want to look around and see all the circumstances and say, it’s not working God! This brings me to my next and final point.

Am I unsatisfiable? What do I really need? Food, shelter, car, gas, family, fellowship, etc. If God brought me all this, but I’m still upset with Him because it’s not up to my specs, the next question is could God ever satisfy me? If God almighty who knows what is best for me couldn’t do it, how could my husband? Instead of me pestering God with all the things I want Him to fill my nest with, I should look in and see what’s already there. Stewardship suggests routine maintenance and cleanings. Am I being a good steward of the things I’ve already been blessed with? Am I thankful to God for my wonderful husband who loves me?

“Favour [is] deceitful, and beauty [is] vain: [but] a woman [that] feareth (reverently respects) the LORD, she shall be praised.” Proverbs 31:30

God Bless You Today!

Do you have comments about this post?

Comment below or email Terri at; Terri@TerriPorta.com

3 thoughts on “Are You Married to an Idea Generator?”

  1. Wait a sec, I’m not marrying your husband am I?
    Oh right, I’m marrying his son! The apple does not fall far from the tree. Those guys sure know how to check-in, elaborate good ideas, and walk in love towards their women!

    Love ya future mom-in-law!

    1. HA! So true! My family is full of Idea Generators too, men and women. It’s not prone to one gender though in a marriage, if it’s not given the right perspective, it can wreak havoc. I’m so thankful for you Jessica because you are support Jonathan. I’m so excited to see what God is doing next in your lives! Thank you for letting us be a part of it all.

Leave a Reply

