Where is Never Never Land?

Life is reality, but

our reality is not always Truth.

What happens when life doesn’t unfold the way you think it should? Years ago, I built my version of reality around me into a kind of fantasy world. If I didn’t like how things happened at some event, I exaggerated in my mind until it turned out differently. It was like going to Never Never Land on a little mental vacation. I’d daydream about not growing up, no responsibilities, my prince charming was going to ride up any minute…that sort of thing. I didn’t have to think of it the way it was–horrible–I could just go home and write in my journal and make it all disappear. This was a dangerous habit pattern. If I didn’t like how someone said something, or made me feel, I’d internalize it. Then, if asked, I’d spew forth all this gibberish about what a wonderful time I had, or how everything was wonderful all the time. In retrospect– there were symptoms, I stopped looking people in the eye, I kept very busy serving at events, I used fake platitudes to get by and basically stopped being my honest, fun-loving self. Then in the quiet of the night, I’d cry out to God and ask Him why I couldn’t get results in my prayers. I’d blame Him for falling short and failing me. Do you see what was wrong with that picture? It was a skewed world view based on the reality I decided to believe instead of the reality the way it really was.

Sometimes, I see this same symptomatic dichotomy functioning in people around me; yet I know they cry out in agony during the night watches to God, because they also deal with the symptoms of a life lacking in God’s rich abundance.

Why is this kind of overcompensation or exaggeration dangerous? It camouflages the devil’s movement in your life. Let’s face facts: the devil is sneaky. The secret to his success is the secrecy of his moves. If he can get you blaming yourself, or looking the other way he can do what ever he wants to the lives around you. If you’re not looking at reality, you’re not going to God to cast the devil out of your life using the power-filled name of Jesus Christ. If the devil can throw a brain-busting, self-esteem annihilating, fiery dart at you through a conversation, then he has you right where he wants you–defeated. Let’s call a spade a spade for once.

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high [places].” Eph. 6:12

Anytime someone, through conversation, gossip, media, or family issues makes you feel unworthy, accused, condemned, or sinful check the source! You are under a spiritual attack. Raise your Bible/sword and say; ON GUARD! These tactics of the devil’s are all about control. If the devil loses control over you, he will use these tactics to try to stop you from really seeing the situation for what it is. I always think to myself, “I smell a rat!” This is a perfect time for you to dive into the victory verses, and the overcomer verses in the Bible.

Oh and one more thing; if God is trying to give you a champion’s perspective, why do you continue to blame yourself? Why do you keep ducking your head in voluntary submission to the devil’s agenda? Most of the time, it’s because the devil beat the self-esteem out of you. This has gone on too long, to the point that you’re weak, defeated, and powerless. But God did not send sacrifice His Son for our freedom, so that we could remain someone else’s slave. We have to claim freedom and break those shackles open!

“Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.” Gal. 5:1

How? How do you stand against this mental bondage? Stand on the truth. The Word is truth.

“For the word of God [is] quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and [is] a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” Heb. 4:12

God designed His Word for our freedom and the devil’s defeat. He designed His gift of holy spirit to fight Satan with great power. But first you need to put the Word on in your mind and act accordingly.

If you believe when you pray, be bold and act accordingly.

Once you accept your freedom in Christ, God makes reality so great you’ll have to pinch yourself.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

