Are You in a Slump with God?

Are you like this too?

As an early adult, life was my lottery ticket and I couldn’t wait to scratch it. I had clipped, and glued, and then re-clipped and re-glued pictures of my dreams onto what I called my dream-board. I was a romantic at heart! A misty-eyed sentimentalist with really big ideas. Then the glue wasn’t sticking anymore. The pictures kept falling off.

When something would go terribly wrong, I’d bandage up my heart with that dream-board. I’d say to myself, “Someday I’ll have that beautiful house, that beautiful diamond, that perfect body…and then I’ll be happy.” But then, things kept going downhill. The marriage, children, home with the white picket fence and financial freedom wasn’t working out the way I’d planned. The bill collectors were even calling my house! I became an introvert and hid from family and friends. I put the dream-board under the bed and went into a major life “schlump” as Dr. Suess calls it. And we all know that un-schlumping oneself is a very hard thing to do.

I ridiculed my dream-board, because now it was the object of my displeasure. Why had I shot for the stars, when I wasn’t even getting out of town? The condemnation began to spiral me downwards. Where had my big dreams taken me? If only I’d been a better…

Then, a revelation, or really a slow series of revelations, hit me. If God is good, and He is light and in him was no darkness at all, then He wasn’t happy about my messed up dreams either. I took a good long look at my priorities. They were all out of whack! I was chasing a board of pictures, ideas and concepts that were godly by design, but five senses in nature. I realized my goals needed to change from; “I’ll be happy and have finally arrived when my waist is a perfect size 0.5. or have the big rock on my finger,” to “I’ll be blessed because, I do all that God asks me to do today.” Did you notice I took the “if” out in the second version? I decided to just be blessed with God and thankful He was willing to still train me, love me and guide me.

Won 4th Rookie in the Nation for Real Estate the year after my change of direction.

It seems that the change happened fast after that, but I know it was decisions everyday over time. Since I gave up the planning of my own dreams, (which I still have and now call them heart’s desires; because that’s the real need versus a five-senses thrill) my daily habits, of doing no more and no less than what God asked, took me to the doorstep of my dreams. Everyday, I’d evaluate how well I did at listening and asked how I could get better. From that surrender of pride and the U-turn in my goals, I actually began attaining my goals. Yes, all the ones from the dream-board! They look a little different of course, because those were the old styles, the old trends from magazine articles. But now, suddenly I was seeing them manifest into my reality. Oddly enough, I didn’t care. Yes, I cared… but “stuff” wasn’t what I was chasing, analyzing, and strategizing towards. My confidence soared, because now I succeeded by just doing what God asked me to do everyday. Little victories led to bigger ones. I started out wanting to hear His answer in a one word form. And even now I thrill at the idea that the biggest guy in the universe talks to me and to you too.

Now, I have the ring…but I hardly ever wear it. I have the home, but someone else mows the lawn. I have the car, the time, the financial freedom…but that isn’t at all what’s on my mind. My mind is trained on, “God, if you were me, what would you do today.” As it turns out, my dream-board was miniscule compared to the dream-board God designed for me way back when. God was shooting higher than the stars for my life. But He knew I couldn’t get there without Him. Here’s two verses that will bless you if you truly spiritually hungry.

“But as it is written, eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.” 1 Corinthians 2:9

You are a really big deal to God. So big in fact, that He has a ton more blessings prepared for you than you ever learn about. What if, you did exactly what He said for one whole day?

“Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us.” Eph. 3:20

Isn’t this incredible? Exceeding abundantly! Man I was in better shape just doing what He asked than on my own. How? Because…

“God just knows stuff!” ~M.Gudorf

God Bless You Today!

2 thoughts on “Are You in a Slump with God?”

Leave a Reply

