Am I A Total Failure?

When I was in my early twenties I, like many others, wrestled with my identity. People told me, you’re a grown up now so you have to…grow up. I didn’t want to, but the pressure was on. I wrestled with questions like: Do I want to be like my parents? Do I want to be like my fictional heroes or my life heroes? I had all kinds of images in my mind of who I wanted to be. I also recognized what I didn’t like and would never let myself stoop to. It was all part of the ideal path I planned for my life.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Then “CRAP” happened. And I reacted the very way I never wanted to? Then I blew it again, and again, and again. I started recognizing that I have the worst traits of my parents, my enemies, or worse! I failed all my own expectations?

How could I overcome my worst failures ever?

For a while I let it eat my soul. Then like others I ignored it. Then I put on a fake humility and disguised it. Then the tidal wave of substitutions came, such as pharmaceutical aids, alcohol, work, activities, competitions. Even illness can take the attention off because then failure wasn’t my fault, sickness was the blame. I tried to blame my parents, my schooling– or lack of, relationships, the government, circumstances in general, or anything else that would keep me from finally acknowledging the the truth. In the end we all have to, like me, face that truth. The hard truth is, I’m a failure. We all are. No matter how talented I am, how smart, personable, relatable or amazing I am I still get a big fat F and there was still a giant hole inside me that I couldn’t fill. Where is the hope?

“For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;” Romans 3:23

Why try so hard then? Why do I strive for vain glory that is not the glory of God. We fall short. How can we possibly have hope? Are we completely irredeemable?

“But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us, Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;) And hath raised [us] up together, and made [us] sit together in heavenly [places] in Christ Jesus: That in the ages to come he might shew the exceeding riches of his grace in [his] kindness toward us through Christ Jesus. For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: [it is] the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.” Ephesians 2:4-9

It was never God’s plan that we live in all this sin, failure, and trouble. This world hasn’t seen “ideal” since the garden of Eden. That’s why God had to set up the salvation plan. We needed a way to be “ideal” again. What’s ideal? Perfect fellowship with God like Adam and Eve first had.

What was mankind’s greatest failure?

The fall of Adam and Eve. That was when we lost the connection with God through the Holy Spirit. They left us in a complete failure and a completely irredeemable state. The Devil celebrated when Jesus Christ was in the grave because he thought he won and his victory was that mankind could never be redeemed. “But God who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us”…quickened Jesus Christ’s dead body and raised him from the dead forever redeeming mankind. Now, perfect fellowship is again our choice. But we could never have made that choice with out God or his son Jesus Christ. NOW, we have the victory over death, now we have the victory over failure, now we have the victory over the enslavement of fear. Jesus Christ won our victory for us and by the grace of God we are saved from the worst failure any man could ever make. Thanks to Jesus Christ now I can live an abundant life free of all my failures and past mistakes. They don’t have to way me down ever again.

What is so great about the connection with God?

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? [shall] tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter. Nay, (NO WAY) in all these things we are more than conquerors (Super Victors) through him that loved us.“Romans 8:35-37

 “Now thanks [be] unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of his knowledge by us in every place.” 2 Cor. 2:14

Today is a new day. Today is a day for victory!

Embrace that victory. Linger in the perfect fellowship and triumph of God in Christ in you.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

