5 Tips to: Amazing Conversations with God

Fog shrouds my home this morning like a cold down comforter, all white and misty. It reminded me of how hard it is sometimes to walk with God. Spiritual fog looks just like this. Our minds are shrouded in worry, fuzzy with expectations and covered in layers of guilt. How do we find answers? How do we know what to do? God says His Word is a light to our path. But there are voices in the mist disguised by the echos around them. Who is speaking? Who do I trust?

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

I would need a steady voice. I would need a recognizable sound. Especially when I ask, “Can someone hand me a light?”

Today I’m going to give you 5 tips on clear conversations with God. If you work at it everyday, you’ll notice God’s voice becomes like a fog horn, a warm breeze and the bright sun combined. Are you ready?

Me too. But first, what gives? Who am I to ask for that kind of clarity from God?

Well…I can ask because I believed Romans 10:9-10 just like you. I am a child of God. I’m His kid. And that sonship/daughter-ship gave me certain rights. One of them is access to God 24×7.

“And that he might reconcile both unto God in one body by the cross, having slain the enmity (division) thereby: And came and preached peace to you which were afar off, and to them that were nigh. For through him we both have access by one Spirit unto the Father. Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellow citizens with the saints, and of the household of God...” Ephesians 2:16-19

What if you just believed that one verse? Wow.

For Amazing Conversations You’ll Need To:

  1. Eat Your Beans. God is not a respecter of persons, but He does respect conditions. One of the conditions is the condition of the heart. Your heart needs to be right…right? Wouldn’t that make sense? If I have an “issue” with someone, am I going to receive what they have to tell me in the right way? NO. I’m going to have a little pride to swallow. Pride is sin, sin is pride. Pride always takes us off into the foggy unknown. How do we get rid of pride? 1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us [our] sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” Just admit it. It’s not that big of a deal. It’s just like beans. Pride, pride, for every meal, the more you eat the better you feel. Get it out-of-the-way. God loves you. He wants you blessed. You are a member of HIS household after all. (It’s never fun to live in a household with a “know-it-all.” And if anyone could be one its God, and He never treats us that way. He always walks in great tender love towards us.)
  2. Set the Stage. When you’re in a conversation with someone you love or someone captivating, don’t you wish you had just a few more minutes to talk with them? God knows everything about what is best for your life and relationships and everything. He thinks good thoughts towards you as it says in Jeremiah, and He wants you tuning in to Him over and over. Give Him some time to finish His sentences. It’s like the guy who woke up one morning in LA and heard from God, “There’s going to be an earthquake today…” So the guy packs up quickly and drives to San Bernardino. Then asks God what’s next, and God is allowed to finish His sentence, “…in San Bernardino!” Wouldn’t that suck? Doesn’t this happen all the time though? Allow God the time to finish His sentence by setting the stage. Schedule Him in. King David said it best, “How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them!” Psalms 139:17.  That from a guy who was known for “Enquiring of the Lord.”
  3. Turn On the Light. God’s Word is God’s Inspired Will. David said, “Thy word [is] a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path” Psalms 119:105. Jeremiah 25:16 said, “Thy words were found and I did eat them and thy word was the joy and rejoicing of my heart.” These amazing men sought help and peace in God’s Word. They didn’t have it in a leather-bound version with chapters, verses and a center reference column. What if when we had a question, we went to the Word first and then Google? I know what you’re thinking, I search Google for a new recipe and you want me to search the Bible instead? Here’s my answer. Do you not stop at your email, Facebook page, Twitter and the news on your way there?
  4. Blindfold Yourself. Sounds strange, but let’s say I put a blindfold on you and stood you in front of 10 strange men including your Dad, could you pick out your Dad when he calls your name? Sure because you’ve heard his voice your whole life. You recognize it. “And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, [and] one shepherd.” John 10:16. God speaks to you in you. He uses your thinking apparatus to do it. Which means His voice will sound like your thoughts. Phil. 2:13. You have to learn to recognize Him. Practice without looking for the five senses signs. (They are a crutch in most cases and can be manipulated by the adversary.) Quiet your mind and then ask God there. Go with the first answer that comes to mind before your rationale can jump in. Remember God knows what you have need of before you ask and He wants to reveal Himself to you.
  5. Pray in the Spirit MUCH. Acts 10:46 “For they heard them speak with tongues, and magnify God…” What does a magnifying glass do? It brings things closer. God’s voice can sound clear, defined and distinctly different. It will be far easier to hear through the fog. In your quiet time spend 20 minutes praying in the spirit first then ask God your big questions. You’ll be amazed at how much clearer He sounds.

God Blessed You Today!

Leave a Reply

