Part 2: Picket the White Picket Fence

It was the middle of the night. I hadn’t slept because I was thinking about the divorce. Snow lay in mutant-size drifts over everything outside and my closet-sized apartment seemed to shrink down to button-sized. I paced, I baked, I cleaned, and I read. Then I went back to pacing. I had to get out of that cramped place…so I decided to write. Then, suddenly, I was twelve-years-old again. I was climbing on a horse and riding in the middle of the summer. The grasshoppers were buzzing and the sun was shining. My brothers and I were hunting for a fox den. We chased them through fields of gold, and when we found the den they were skunks instead. We laughed all the way home, but we still had to sleep outside because of the stench which sent our poor dog, Pepper, running for cover.

My first novel for middle graders.

Wow! The story had just burst from me. I never knew I liked to write before. It was the most exhilarating experience I’d ever felt. I had finally figured out why I was on this earth. I was also way outside the white picket fence, in fact I was picketing and on strike. When I was married to my ex, I had been so worried about making an emotionally handicapped marriage and woman work properly, that I didn’t take the time to discover what I loved. I never knew I had a passion like this! I had been too busy obsessing over my unhealthy expectations. Where had writing thing come from? I wanted to do it again and again. Do you have a passion like that? Do have something that was never given enough time, or serious thought before? Then I say, go for it and don’t give up! I discovered this passion in 2005. It takes time, learning, and skill. But I’m not giving up. Are you?

Do you let your creative side play?

Do you love painting? Photography, writing, designing amazing spreadsheets for people who can’t put a one in front of a two? What about drafting? Baking? Quilting? Crocheting afghan? Music? Pottery? Home design? You name it there are millions of ways to get creative. My husband writes beautiful songs that make me swoon. My mother takes pictures that leave me breathless, and my daughter-in-law bakes cupcakes that tempt the strongest will power.

A wonderful thing happens when you find your passion. You put all the other matters from your mind and simply create. Of course, you must deal with those issues eventually, but don’t rush it. God is still working there. Besides, I often find myself in the middle of a character’s problem and I have to go to God’s Word, or this blog for answers. I use Him to work in my stories and make them come alive with His kindness and redemption. Then that answer turns around and heals me.

How about you? Have you ever asked God what hobby you should try? He knows what would thrill you. Don’t be surprise if, you’re…surprised. Ha! That’s part of the fun. Here’s the thing…when you’re straining over a relationship, then it’s not flowing like it should. Let go of the reigns on it a little and do something fun. Life isn’t supposed to be that hard. When you do, you’ll realize the answers you needed were on the ends of your own arms. And if you let God help you be creative, you’re talking to the guy who decided to add a rainbow to the end of every rain storm. Then, just don’t give up.

“Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform [it] until the day of Jesus Christ.” Phil. 1:6

God bless you today!

To read part 1 click here.

Leave a Reply

