How Not: To Feel Like A Spiritual Idiot

Christians are supposed to be kind, loving, trusting and full of forgiveness. I love that about God. He gave us so many great things to live up to. So many marks of the high calling. But He also wants us to be wise.

He wants us to trust Him with all our hearts and lean not unto our own (limited) understanding. Why?

So we don’t feel like idiots afterwards.

Yep, I just said idiots. You can put any adjective you’d like in there, stupid, dumb, dull-witted, lame-brained, wooden-headed, or doltish. Any of them will fit. On average, Christians are some of the smartest people I know. They’d never act the way I did the other day, when I walked into a spiritual gossip parlor with my heart on my sleeve. (My first mistake.) Then, I shared my heart with someone who doesn’t care about me, my family, or my life like God does. Then, I found out she gossiped about me behind my back. It broke my heart. My words were twisted, revised, reformulated, and tinted with evil. I had thought to keep my mouth SHUT and didn’t listen. Why would God want me to keep my mouth shut? Because it was a trap to begin with. He knew that.

Proverbs 356 Frustratedwo-001

“Behold, I send you forth as sheep in the midst of wolves: be ye therefore wise as serpents, and harmless as doves.” Matthew 10:16

Being wise is something that requires diligence.

“For they that are such serve not our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly; and by good words and fair speeches deceive the hearts of the simple (pure or innocent). For your obedience is come abroad unto all [men]. I am glad therefore on your behalf: but yet I would have you wise unto that which is good, and simple (pure or innocent) concerning evil.” Romans 16:18-19

I was an idiot because I didn’t remember this verse.

“And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.” Romans 5:5

This verse shows us that God distributed His love through His Spirit. We have to operate Holy Spirit to walk in His love. In the scenario above, I should have operated it with the manifestations of word of knowledge, word of wisdom and discerning of spirits. Would that have been wiser? Would it have been loving? You bet. Wow, did I get in the spiritual soup without it! God’s love which is also His wisdom is inexorably tied to His power. He poured them out together. We cannot separate them. There is a reason why 1 Cor 13–the chapter defining God’s love and holding all 15 characteristics of love– is put smack in between chapters 12: introducing His power and 14 about the operation of that power. There is a reason! God’s love walks hand in hand with His power. So why does the devil try to pull them apart?

It should be obvious–if you’ve read this blog for any length of time–to leave us incompetent. I had plenty of kindness and forgiveness and all those characteristics of God’s love when I walked into that place, but I didn’t use the power. I became an idiot for the Lord.

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity (agape; the love of God in the renewed mind, in manifestation), I am become [as] sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. And though I have [the gift of] prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, (have all power) and have not charity (also God’s wisdom), I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed [the poor], and though I give my body to be burned, (incredible kindness) and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.” 1 Corinthians 13:1-3

Sometimes we’re all idiots, like I was. We walk in unsuspecting of the Devil’s agenda and get our hearts beat up, torn to bits and broken. We walk away condemning ourselves or God, yet He gave us everything we need to avoid those situations. God never does for us, what He asks us to do for ourselves. He asks us to trust Him, to be wise as serpents and as innocent as doves. Only by operating God’s love could we accomplish both.

We are coming up on the biggest season of family feuding known in the history of the world, Christmas. More families are torn to pieces during this holiday than any other. Be wise and full of God’s power this time. Have you’re spiritual eyes open. Don’t walk into these situations spiritually blind. Ask God, by the power of Jesus Christ to clean out the spiritual corners and sanctify them before you walk in. Don’t fall prey like I did. Because ouch…that hurts.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

