How To Memorize Verses

Posted on Updated on

Isaac Sucker Incentive-001Have you ever wondered why you have to tell your kids 30 times before they remember something? Well, God designed them that way. You see, good or bad they need repetition before it sinks in. The devil has to be just as persistent telling them something, as you are, before it sinks in. This need for repetition is why the devil has to start early with the doctrinization of error. But you can start just as early, age 2 or 3 with positive things such as verses. Remember the other day I said the Word is designed for easy consumumption, even for three-year olds.

My husband was at his office with my son, when a boy about seven-years old walked into the break room. He asked my husband, “Are you a Christian?”

Bill replied, “Yes, I know because I believe Romans 10:9. How about you?”

“Yes, and I know a memory verse.” He then quoted John 3:16.

“Wow! Isaac also knows a memory verse. Ephesians 6:1″ Isaac proceeded to quote his memory verse. Bill was so blessed to have experienced that, and of all places, it was at his office.

It reminded me that memory verses are easy to learn. They give us mental sharpness, clarity of God’s Word, scope, refreshment in the soul and pride of accomplishment. Not to mention what learning each verse teaches us in the long run.

Here’s how you start.

Pick out a verse that takes care of you today. For me that verse was.

Joshua 1:9 “Have not I commanded thee? Be strong ad of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” Joshua 1:9

Do you see how I repeated the reference twice. That is important! Then divide the verse up into natural pauses and take each pause one at a time. Repeat them to yourself out loud, adding the phrases upon each other until you can say the whole thing from memory. Then repeat it from memory over and over until you can do it without looking back at the verse. Through out the rest of the day remind yourself to keep repeating your memory verse over and over.

Here’s the real shocker; it’s easier to do 3 or 4 verses at a time. I’m not sure why, but it is. So here are three more verses I’m going to work on today. I’m going to search for “like” or similar verses. That way I can learn a subject, not just a single verse.

Psalms 46:1-2 “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble 2 Therefore we will not fear though the earth be removed and the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea.” Psalms 46:1-2

And since that is really one thought I’m going to challenge myself and add one more on the subject.

Jeremiah 32:27 “Behold, I [am] the LORD, the God of all flesh: is there any thing too hard for me?” Jeremiah 32:27

As we age our mind gets lazy because we have all this thinking hardwired and it takes no effort to come to a conclusion. That’s why using the Word as a sharpening tool can keep your mind young, vibrant and strong through memorization. Try it for a month and see if anything changes. Yes, and that means take three to four verses a day for a month. You’ll be amazed where it leads you!

God bless you today.

P.S. Here is a link to a list of memory verses that I started with.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fsmpx5e0bknwng4/doc00008620130213092545.pdf

2 thoughts on “How To Memorize Verses

    Juliet said:
    February 13, 2013 at 10:16 am

    Thanks for sharing this post! My six-year-old son attends a Christian school, and each week he is given a verse to memorize. We spend our time in the car working on memorizing it. And not only does he learn the verse, I learn it as well. We’ve both been blessed with this weekly habit. :0)

      Supporting Godly Women responded:
      February 13, 2013 at 10:21 am

      Wow that’s great! I’ve been a christian since I was little and know lots of verses, but when I get going on a new section of memorization I feel so proud. I couldn’t believe it one time when I was reading Ephesians aloud and my husband began quoting from memory each verse…all the way through the six chapters!! I was blessed and impressed, but also inspired because that part of the Word is sown deep in his heart. Boy, wouldn’t that be a great goal!

Leave a Reply

