Are the Windows of Heaven Opening in Your Life?

Posted on Updated on

Hi! I hope you enjoyed yesterday’s four steps to a good decision. I used to think that if I ask God to help with the decisions He’d say I should spend my money on boring stuff. He’d want me to save every penny and never have any fun. Wowzah, was I wrong! I can’t believe some of the awesome things I’ve had a chance to do and see. Here’s the thing, once we have the few steps in place to good spending, the world is our oyster. God created a paradise here for us to enjoy, learn about and see. Why would He stop us from exploring our world? He wouldn’t. There’s always wisdom in asking Him on timing, say if there’s a war going on or something but for the most part, its an amazing place.

Before we can dive into all that blessing that comes with the abundant life, we need to make sure our own garden is healthy and producing fruit.

How can we do that?

“Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the LORD of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that [there shall] not [be room] enough [to receive it]. And I will rebuke the devourer for your sakes, and he shall not destroy the fruits of your ground; neither shall your vine cast her fruit before the time in the field, saith the LORD of hosts. And all nations shall call you blessed: for ye shall be a delightsome land, saith the LORD of hosts.” Malachi 3:10-12

It doesn’t have anything to do with saving your money. It has everything to do with where you spend it. Today, we have churches, yes, but we also have believers walking tall and standing for God in their own lives. After the day of Pentecost, the believers scattered to the wind. They each still needed to tithe and give to God. Where did they do that? They asked God where. He knew who was doing His work then. He knows who is doing it today. Look how blessed Paul got for the Philippians who gave to him.

“Now ye Philippians know also, that in the beginning of the gospel, when I departed from Macedonia, no church communicated with me as concerning giving and receiving, but ye only. For even in Thessalonica ye sent once and again unto my necessity. Not because I desire a gift: but I desire fruit that may abound to your account. But I have all, and abound: I am full, having received of Epaphroditus the things [which were sent] from you, an odour of a sweet smell, a sacrifice acceptable, well pleasing to God. But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:15-19

How did their giving, bring so much back?

He says that he desires fruit would be abounded to their account. He says their sacrifice is acceptable, well pleasing to God, he said God would supply all their need. Wow! Does it seem backwards to you too? And yet it isn’t. Does God himself need your money? No. He’s Spirit. Then how does this work?

Cheerful giver-001

It’s called the principle of giving.

God so loved that He gave. We so love that we give. Are you thankful for what God has already done in your life? I know I am. If it was just saving us from the wrath, that alone would be enough. But then He went above and beyond and made us His kids, gave us eternal life and  made our inner man capable of operating His power and love. Wow! Again I’m blown away. He opens the windows of heaven and pours out a blessing so there’s not room enough to receive it. It’s not just financial gain either, it’s spiritual, physical, mental/emotional, and in our relationships. It’s all the areas of life.

Okay Terri, you say I should give ten dollars for every hundred I make, where does that leave me if I can’t pay rent?

Believing God.

It won’t be that way for long if you trust Him to supply all your need. You’ll have placed God’s hand of blessing and protection over your life, your whole life! 90% of your income with God’s protection and blessing goes much further than all 100% without it. This is something you’ll never learn until you do it for yourself and trust Him. Sorry, if you don’t do it yourself you’ll always doubt. It just isn’t a classroom type of lesson, this is real life, real scenario on the job training. Giving has a way of changing us. It tenderizes our hearts. It softens our bitter edges. We have to get out of “Mees-ville” to give. Anytime that happens it’s a blessing. I think I’m pretty good at giving and then I look up the word “give” in the Bible. How about this for giving?

“And God set them (the stars, sun and moon) in the firmament of the heaven to give light upon the earth,” Genesis 1:17

Ha! Kind of blows my little check to smithereens! God is love. Out of that love He gives with tender mercies and boundless kindness. Our little species has to be pretty mature to see that God is this way always. He loves always, He gives always, He is good always. When He sees us step out and believe Him, He goes to work putting out the financial “fires” in our life. Our believing puts this in motion. Believing is an action word. What is one great action? Giving.

“Be ye therefore followers (Greek=mimētēs or mimics) of God, as dear children;” Ephesians 5:1

Okay, what if I’m giving and giving and giving and still full of worry, doubt and financial problems.

Then what?

I’m so glad you asked. In the next post we’ll cover that. Today, your homework is to find out from God where HE wants you to give your tithe. Treat each time like the first time. It may be the same for three weeks and the fourth week it may be somewhere new. Trust that He knows what He’s talking about and just be obedient.

God Bless You Today!

Click below to see earlier post.

Godly Finances? What the Heck Does that Mean?

Leave a Reply

