How to: Refocus and Stay in the Zone

Are you feeling unmotivated like I was today?

I had 7 million other things on my mind when I first sat down here to work. Have you ever had days like that? Some of us struggle with getting mentally focused for the big and small projects that need our attention. Once I realized what my problem was, I decided to ask God how He would get refocused if He were me. Immediately, I realized that focus is a perspective and there is a cure right here in the Word of God.

Phew! Right?

Here’s an analogy that might help. If I was to shoot an arrow at a target, I would need to raise my bow, focus on the bull’s eye, pull back and relax, then let go. It’s a process. We need to have the focus of mind to aim and shoot, aim and shoot, and aim and shoot. It takes practice to hit the bull’s eye every time but after while you could do it in your sleep. You’d be in “the zone”.

Phil 3 13 bulls eye-001

Our quiver of a mind is full of “arrows”. God also has places for us to shoot that arrow or do those works. If I were hunting an especially quiet or sneaky target, I would wait and keep focused for longer until it came into view. That’s where the stayed mind principle comes in because some projects take longer than others.

Let’s say you have a speech to give. That speech is in my “quiver” or on mental to-do list, but I don’t know what it should be about, I don’t the target of my speech. It then becomes the task of taking out the arrow then asking God what the speech subject should be. God knows the target. He knows what will benefit me and the listeners.

“Thou wilt keep [him] in perfect peace, [whose] mind [is] stayed [on thee]: because he trusteth in thee.” Isaiah 26:3

This is a stayed mind principle.God can help me, I’ll get more done and cut my time and effort in half and stay in the zone.

My life’s quiver is full. It holds an arrow for the following things;

  • Child of God,
  • Mommy,
  • Wife,
  • Daughter,
  • friend,
  • home-cleaning strategist,
  • cook,
  • artist, painter,
  • writer; books, articles, assignments,
  • business owner, (7 businesses to choose from),
  • Toastmaster, mentor,
  • Social media
  • Marketing and promoting

These are just the top categories. Each category has at least five more. How do I decide what to do a speech on, when all of this other stuff is taking up my mental RAM? I just ask God what’s next and trust that He’ll never tell me something that will waste my time or effort. Child of God, Wife and Mommy always come first on my list. Once those are top arrows are prioritized, the sky is the limit. Now, as I walk through my day, I take out arrow after arrow and shoot, hit the target, move on, shoot, hit the target, and move on. When you look back over your life, you’ve done such a huge variety of things and been successful at them because you focused one-hundred percent on the target in front of you. You can get as specific when asking God where to aim, as you need to be. The whole key is in your determined focus on each targeted project.

Let’s say you notice that after asking God, “what’s next” over and over, but one of the targets doesn’t come up anymore such as, Facebook. You notice God doesn’t bring it up and you don’t think about it, so do you need to keep it in the quiver? Here’s what I recommend, don’t totally get rid of the arrow, unless God specifically says so. Keep it on the back burner. One day you may get the thought to message an old friend and tell them God loves them on Facebook. You may have saved their life. You need to trust that God has your back and a bigger picture of your life. If He called us to good works, He must also know what those are so don’t limit Him.

God will provide the targets, you just keep shooting.

“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

God Bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

