Are You a Poster Child for Perfection?

Outside Jesus Christ, of course, who do we have in this world who is perfect? I used to think it was my job.

Then if someone didn’t like my work and criticized me, I grew defensive. So then I’d do the reverse and go into false humility (self-depreciation) and act like I was taking their advice. What I was really doing, was licking my wounds. I would think in my heart, why don’t they like me? That hurts my heart. Then my attitude would turn again and I’d think something like, you always criticize and have something negative to say. My accusations became a defense mechanism. Then I’d ask, was the critic right? Should I change everything because they had an opinion? I went around and around.Cliff-001

How could I ever get out of this worn-out cycle?

The world would send me to the counselor or psychologist. I’m no doctor, but I can go to the Word of God and get answers from there.

“Seeing ye have purified your souls in obeying the truth through the Spirit unto unfeigned (sincere) love of the brethren, [see that ye] love one another with a pure heart fervently:” 1 Peter 1:22

Every human being is born love hungry.

God is Love. He asks us to feed the hunger.

God goes above and beyond by telling us to love one another in 19 different ways and to walk in love, dozens more in the Word. So no matter how wrong the criticism seemed, I am asked to walk in love. No matter how much I want to criticize and correct someone else, my M.O. (mode of operation) should be rooted in love. Everything we have we owe thanks to God through Jesus Christ for. We’d be nothing without them. Maybe we do need the correction, but how are we handling the information and how are we handling other people’s hearts?

“But God who is rich in mercy, for His great love wherewith He loved us.” Ephesians 2:4

The world breeds criticism through every avenue of media it produces.

It breeds the Poster Child of Perfection Syndrome. We try to become perfect and reach the mighty pinnacle of success only to fall flat on our faces. Look at how popular Simon was on American Idol. People hated him, but they put his opinions on a higher platform than anyone else. Let’s look at the statistics for once. Isn’t it true that he has devastated far more hearts than he has ever empowered. Does God appreciate that? Yet, for that he is revered in the world. IS that loving? God’s Word calls these kind of opinions, fiery darts. The worst ones come from someone you respect.

If you look at the world and do exactly the opposite you’ll be just about spot on with the Word of God.

It’s no surprise that lil’ ol me reacts this way to criticism. Everyone has adverse reactions to it. IF it was a food being introduced to the consumer and the tests came back with that bad of results, it would never be approved through the FDA. I guess we’re all just having allergic reactions then. It’s a spiritual allergy then because Satan is also known as the Great Accuser.

What is the answer?

Identify the darts when they target you and target right back with the weapon of God’s love.

“Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:” Ephesians 6:16-17

Our shield of faith is our believing in God. If God started this work in you, don’t give up on it just because someone criticizes you. Critics are plenteous, much like ants. Ignore them. Work towards being your best for God everyday and walk in love. Doing this automatically removes you from the defensive cycle and puts you on the offensive. If the goal is to have fervent love for the brethren, then God can show us how to do it. Trust me, when you do, you’ll be a refreshing resource of positivity and you will grow to heights this world has never known and you’ll be surrounding yourself with love.

God Bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

