Why We Shouldn’t Worry About What People Say

Hello! I hope you enjoyed our last post in Philippians. What an amazing book! Here’s our next few verses.

“The one preach Christ of contention, not sincerely, supposing to add affliction to my bonds: But the other of love, knowing that I am set for the defence of the gospel.” Phil. 1:16-17

Talk bluff-001

Any press, good or bad, is still press. 

In the early eighties, the “Big Hair” band producers sent the guys from the band out on the town. They’d give them a few thousand dollars to “have a good time” on us. They got into all kinds of trouble. They also received tons of bad press. Some of you might think, geez those producers were idiots. Why would they want to hurt their own reputation by letting these wild men go out unsupervised? Crazy! Yes, but the old adage of any press is still press, worked well for them. Especially since they timed this “night out” to happen just before their latest album was released. These men were the “bad boys” of entertainment. The press would cover their crazy antics and cause all kinds of “free” press to occur. Then the album sales spiked as the men recovered from their “good time”.

Let’s look at this from God’s side. Paul landed innocently accused, in prison after creating all kinds of good press. The devil didn’t like that  so he had a few of his people spread some bad press about Paul. All of Paul’s opposition then, stood up and shouted from the tops of buildings how God was this, or God was that. Paul, chuckling all the while because he knew one thing.

There is one amazing things that governs all growth in any one person across the globe. Paul knew what it was that’s why he could see through the bad press. Here’s the one thing.

“Blessed [are] they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.” Matthew 5:6

Paul knew there were hungry people listening. If the preaching included even one truth, the hungry ones got something. If the percentage was 50/50 or 40/60 error there was still some truth and God was being talked about, believed, and preached. Look at the next verse.

“What then? notwithstanding, every way, whether in pretence, or in truth, Christ is preached; and I therein do rejoice, yea, and will rejoice.” vs. 18

Paul wasn’t worried about their preaching, because they were talking about God. He knew the truly hungry ones would search until they found the truth.

Why is it that we fear what people will say? I did that for a really long time.

Two and a half years ago, I stumbled across a truly verbal and bitter Christian. (I say stumble, knowing just how much God planned my steps that day. Lol.) I had been putting up posters for my new adventure called, “Supporting Godly Women.” One of the business owners was angry with me from the start. She tried with all her reasoning to turn me against what I was doing and against God. She pelted me with logic and years of her own conjecture. She asked me all the questions, the same ones I’ve endeavored to answer here for the last two years. The great things is, I had an answer for her at each one. Such as; “If God is so good, why does He let His children get hurt?” I complimented her for being a human lie detector. Only she hadn’t figured out who had lied. I got to tell her how the devil lied not God. In the end, she was crying, then she hugged and thanked me. What a change! I almost fell over because she’d been so adamant to start. Every time a Christian would approach her, she would drill them until they folded. I, with love and joy, never had to fold, because I wasn’t bluffing. I have the answers to the same questions that hounded me for all those years. Under all that bluff she actually loved God. She just couldn’t sort through all the inconsistencies in religion. What fun that was! The best thing about it is, I know she’s born-again. What did that potentially bad press do for God? It mended a hard and hurting heart.

The devil is out there creating all kinds of bad press for God. In fact, there is so much promulgated error, we can look at it in one of two ways. We could say, “I can’t teach what I know, no one will believe me.” Or we can say, like the shoe sales man in Africa said, “Wow! Everyone here needs what I have!”

“Then saith he (Jesus) unto his disciples, The harvest truly [is] plenteous, but the labourers [are] few;” Matthew 9:37

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

