When Will I Get My Second Wind?

“For I know that this shall turn to my salvation through your prayer, and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ,” (KJV) Philippians 1:19

I looked up the verse’s literal translation according to usage. Watch how different and more clear this is.

“But I (Paul) will also rejoice, for I know that this (proclamation of Christ) shall bring about deliverance (from bonds) for me through your prayers (for my needs) and the supply which comes from the spirit (new birth) which Jesus Christ made available.” Phil. 1:19

Wow! What a difference!

Let’s break it down.

  1. Proclamation of the gospel.
  2. Prayers from saints for needs to be met.
  3. Supply of Spirit from the new birth.

What do these three things add up to for Paul?

There is a term in runners lingo called a “second wind” which is the euphoric feeling of pushing past the pain and continuing on. I used to think it’s when a runner takes a break and catches their breath half way through run. Quite the contrary, this is when a runner becomes a “runner”. They are toned, in shape and can run for a long distance without stopping. Then during the last part of the run their body is coming to the last of its strength, but suddenly something happens, psychologically and biologically that gives them an instant boost and they can keep going.

They say that the difference between the ones who never get their second wind and those that do, is purely physiological. I agree! Some of us just won’t give up. We just won’t do it. Our legs and lungs are burning, our body has tapped the last of its stamina and we’re done physically, but somewhere deep inside us something clicks. Our body is no longer the one in charge and we negotiate through the pain. We DECIDE to win. Our belief that mind over matter is so powerful that the nerve centers of our body literally change. Doctors don’t know what it is that causes the second wind, but it’s powerful!

Winning the race-001

I believe that people have this in their walk with God, in life, in their careers, in school and in all kinds of circumstances. I’ve seen it everywhere.

If we looked at Paul as if he were a runner, he was in his second wind. As he negotiated with his body and mind to keep running, he realized that he was not a prisoner after all. He, through the proclamation of Jesus Christ, the prayers from the saints and the supply of the gift of holy spirit inside him, had everything that he needed to keep on going.  He realized he had his second wind! Look at the next two verses. Look at his elation at his own realization especially as you read the literal translation below the KJV.

“According to my earnest expectation and my hope that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to dies is gain.” (KJV) vs. 20 & 21

Literally translated:

“According to my eager expectations and Hope; so, I shall not be disappointed in my expectation, but as it has always been, even so it is now, with all boldness of speech Christ shall be magnified in my personal life, whether I live or die. For me to live (deliverd from bonds) is Christ’s gain (the advancement of the gospel), and if I die (in prison) it is Christ’s gain (the gospel will still advance).” vs. 20-21

He is saying no matter what happens he will magnify the gospel with boldness. He will keep running until the last moment of his life. Can you see how he actually was in his second wind? The way the KJV reads, we think he’s giving up. Instead he is bolstered by his realization.

We can come to these same moments many times through our walk with God. I recently spoke to a friend who she said she was mad at herself because she felt lost. She didn’t think she was hearing God or sure that she was doing the right things to hear Him better. She was at the moment right before her second wind. You know the moment. It’s when you want to give up, you feel defeated, you feel disheartened because you slowed down. These are the moments when you have a choice. The difference between someone who keeps going and who stops is purely physiological. With the sheer force of our will power, we can change the outcome of that moment and the rest of our lives.

It takes a perspective change sometimes like what Paul made. He realized that he had more than enough to keep going by having God. God was all he really had to begin with anyway. God made you a super conqueror and an overcomer. He made you holy, He chose you before the foundations of the earth, and He seated you in the heavenlies. Is that enough to keep you running this race?

Only you can decide.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

