How Word-of-Mouth Advertising Works for Us

God has the best word of mouth advertising.

IMG_3125

Well, I finally have my first show hanging in McCormick’s Cafe in downtown Billings. I am so excited! We’ve already had some nibbles on the art. I’m working to complete more paintings and get my personal marketing in order and learning a ton! One thing I know from marketing is that word of mouth will not spread alone. Word of mouth being a major component of marketing. I know I can’t just wait and see what happens. I have to “get involved”. Bill and I are both promoters and we work hard to bring our next projects out to the public. I told the manager that I’d give out a commission to his staff for helping me sell my work. This is not unusual. Many artists have agents or promoters or know they must promote with $cash. It’s an incentive that opens those mouths. Once the word spreads, I’ll start to make sales. With every sale, I must be able to handle the order, process the money, give out the commission and deliver the product. All of that combined are experiences that come from those opened mouths.

IMG_3135

Our verse today has something similar.

“…For unto you it is given in the behalf of Christ, not only to believe on him, but also to suffer for his sake;” Philippians 1:29

That word “suffer” immediately had me looking up the definition and, of course, I was delighted to find the meaning. It doesn’t mean contract a plague or illness and suffer right along side someone. It doesn’t mean we have to bleed and die on a cross like Jesus Christ did. It means we are here in his behalf, experiencing things instead of him. Here’s the literal translation according to usage.

“…And this from God, because it was given you in Christ, not only to believe on him, but also to experience things on behalf of him.” Phil. 1: 28b-29

I grabbed the whole sentence so it would make sense. We are commissioned to do the work of Christ. What is that work?

“Now then we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God did beseech [you] by us: we pray [you] in Christ’s stead, be ye reconciled to God.” 2 Corinthians 5:20

We represent Christ and the his power through our power of attorney. God commissioned us. What is an ambassador if not someone who represents their homeland. Where is our homeland?  Heaven. We are in this world but we are not of this world. God set us apart for Himself and when Jesus Christ comes back we’ll all meet him in the air. Then we’ll spend the rest of eternity relaying our experiences when on earth. We’ll get rewards for standing too. This is our payoff. We don’t have to do this without a reward. God knew how to incentivize us and besides the abundant life, peace that passes all understanding and joy that floods our soul here, we’ll get crowns up in heaven.

God has opened my mouth with a commission too and then blessed my life inside and out.

God is so good! How about it? HOW has God opened your mouth today?

Leave a Reply

