Just When I Got To My Feet, I Got Hit Again…

Have you ever had that happen? You really work for a few days to get back to your spiritual feet. You read the Word of God, you pray in the spirit like it’s going out of production, you pray with your understanding until your soul feels free to fly again and then…blamo! That happened to me yesterday.

Help Gas Guy-002Blamo!

I’d been doing all of those things this last week and trying to get strong after the last blow that took me to the mat. I’d been knocking evil spirit’s heads together too and pummeling the principalities of his kingdom with my prayers. Boy, I was feeling so good. Then, a dearly loved member of my family called. They brought up a situation that has tried to take me out this last year. They wanted to talk, explore my feelings, clarify my actions and encourage me. For a few hours after that wonderful talk, I was still numb. What just hit me? I wondered. I don’t feel like doing anything. Then…I started eating chocolate. (I mean medicating. Never a good sign) By the time I went to bed, I was depressed, oppressed and ready to give up…again.

This morning I woke up groggy, moody and upset. I feel like an emotional punching bag. What happened God? The remembrance of that conversation came to mind and I realized it was really a spiritual attack. I was getting too excited about God, too accurate, and too close to the real cause of things. The devil had to stop my progress. Hmmm…

What would you do? You just found out you’re being bullied and a wound is being used to keep you in line. How would you feel? I ask you this because I feel like I know you. Birds of a feather flock together. You and I are those birds. You read here because you have the same kind of feathers as I do. Look at the next two verses of chapter two. Keep in mind that we are spiritual athletes on spiritual team.

“If there be therefore any consolation in Christ, if any comfort of love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, if any bowels and mercies, Fulfil ye my joy, that ye be like-minded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind.” Philippians 2:1-2

Let’s look at the literal translation of those Greek words according to usage.

“Therefore, if there is any encouragement in (fellowship with) Christ, if there is any quieting comfort of the heart in love, if there is any spiritual fellowship, if there is any tender compassion, then make my joy completely full by thinking the same thoughts, by having the same love, by having your souls joined together, by thinking unity.” Philippians 2:1-2

See… birds of a feather.

Unity, tender compassion and spiritual fellowship is the team theme of God. So here I am, knocked face down on the mat of the spiritual boxing ring. I was hit with a low blow. Very low. It was not by my family member, but by the adversary manipulating the situation. Suddenly, I’m aware of just how many times this low blow has hit me this last year. It came everytime I was getting to my feet. Over and over the devil pounded me trying to get me to give up speaking the Word of God.

Is there something that is a huge trigger for you? Is there something that sends you to the chocolate/alchohal/drug drawer? Is there something that has you depressed, oppressed and angry? These are techniques the devil uses to knock us off our walk. He sends us spiraling for days, weeks and even years if he can.

So, bird of a feather and fellow team-mate what should I do?

My first thought is, the secret to the devil’s success is the secrecy of his moves. His secret just got revealed. Now what? Yep, ask God what to do next.

Phil. 4:8 comes to mind and remember…I’m feeling like a total loser, discouraged, depressed and I don’t think I can carry on.

“Finally brethren, whatsoever things are true…”

Are any of those thoughts true? No.

“whatsoever things are just,”

I was the victim of a spiritual attack, is that just? No

“whatsoever things are honest,”

Didn’t God make me more than a conqueror? Didn’t He seat me in the heavenlies? So…am I a loser? No

“whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” Philippians 4:8

Wow! I’m already encouraged! The way I feel does not live up to the truth. Okay…now I have a choice. Do I believe the Word of God or do I stay discouraged; which is a huge trick?

This is where the rubber meets the road. I have to decide to receive and use the truth in my life. This is how we renew our minds. We put the Word of God in mind and act accordingly. Why? Because I’m Rocky Balboa in a skirt…oh geez what a mind picture. I mean, I’m tough and once I realize I’ve been tricked, used, abused and scammed I get ticked off! Just like you. God doesn’t want me living my life with my head hanging in defeat all day. He gave me freedom. He gave me a real choice!

“Who shall lay any thing to the charge of God’s elect? (that’s me and you) [It is] God that justifieth. Who [is] he that condemneth? [It is] Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? [shall] tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter. Nay, (NO WAY) in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us. For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:33-40

As I lay face down on the mat in the spiritual ring my soul begins to rumble with God’s passionate truth. The devil stands over me and laughs and taunts but I know where my strength lies. It lies in God. He is my sufficiency. It is in what Jesus Christ did. He made it so I could get up. I rise to my knees and hear, “STAY DOWN! YOU CAN’T DEFEAT ME PUNY CHRISTIAN”. The rumble inside me grows as I study the mat.

“For it is GOD which worketh in you both to will and to do of HIS good pleasure.” Philippians 2:13

The devil staggers backwards in shock as I pray in the name of Jesus Christ. What now God? I ask.

“For the eyes of the Lord are over the righteous, and his ears are open unto their prayers: but the face of the Lord is against them that do evil” 1 Peter 3:12

Bind it. Then continue walking in the truth child.

Devil, I bind you in this situation. You are never allowed to use it against me again in the name of Jesus Christ. Thank you Father. Thank you for showing me the truth.

I love you team-mate. I hope this helped you like it did me today.

God bless you!

2 thoughts on “Just When I Got To My Feet, I Got Hit Again…”

  1. You are a formidable foe! You DO have dominion over the tricks and devices of Satan. The reality is, we have a job to do and someone doesn’t want us to do it. It’s very hard for me to remember we fight not against flesh and blood in these situations. I have been facing them too lately. We will stand together! Blessings!

    1. Thank you Jan. Your encouragement means a lot! Sometimes we think we fight alone but we don’t. We have God first, then prayer partners who keep on giving when we can’t seem to. I guess that’s why our spiritual family is a big deal. You are such a blessing and it’s great to hear from you!
      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

