Let the Unslumping Begin!

5 basics Cover

Hello! I hope you are enjoying this series in Philippians. I know I am. One of the key ingredients to daily growth is studying the Word of God. By studying Philippians with me, we are on that journey of daily growth! Yay! Today, I’m taking a step away from the series to reintroduce, “5 Basics for Growth.

One of my prayers from a young age was that God would always keep me “hungry” for Him. I’d read that verse in Matthew 5:6 “Blessed [are] they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.” That verse spoke to me and became my prayer. I didn’t know at the time that my appetite for God was up to me. Hunger is a self-driven desire. God never does for us what He asks us to do for ourselves. Many times throughout the years I noticed a halt in my growth or a feeling as though I wasn’t growing at all. Church and reading my Bible became static, boring and a strain. I became depressed. There were times I couldn’t hear God’s voice. I’d allowed the darkness of the World to trick me out of my believing. I hated it. I got to the point where I didn’t even like to be with ME! How do you escape that? Ha! I had fallen into a slump of mass proportions. How could I, as Dr. Seuss says, “unslump” myself?  Was there a recipe and if so what was it?  How can we change the inside of our mind and spirit to be more like God, who asks us to be imitators of Him. I read verses like this one.

“That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.” 2 Timothy 3:17

Wow! Perfect is that Greek word “Artios” which means fully equipped with everything necessary for the voyage. How could I be artios then? I knew God wanted me to pursue it but how? Then a friend showed me the powerful Greek word “prothymos“. This word gives us God’s recipe for growth! I studied it for myself until I felt that things had changed. I put the steps to the test and, without exception, God confirmed His Word over and over again. I saw staggering growth.  Nothing has been the same since those dark days.

Once the idea for the book popped into my head, it was written in a very short time. I couldn’t believe how fast! I then took the book to my support group and believers I knew. They tested, edited, and helped me refine the book so that it spoke to the needs of people like you and me, who long to grow and grow fast with God.

Why sit in befuddlement any longer? Why allow the distractions and confusion of our world to swallow your intents for the abundant life with God? It is time to rise up and take hold of the vital and abundant life. The steps in this book are proven with over 60 years of combined biblical research. The workbook is included on the last page of every chapter. You can work through each chapter slowly or breeze through in two days. All the applications will broaden your understanding of God, His Promises and His brilliant design to grow our inner man.

Today is your day! Let the “unslumping” begin!

God Bless You!

One thought on “Let the Unslumping Begin!”

Leave a Reply

