Stress Management Part 1

“Be careful (anxious) for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.” Phil 4:6

How can we have time in our busy day to bring everything to God? What happens when something comes up that is a true problem? How do we get through those stress filled times?

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Today I’d like to cover a topic called crisis or stress management.

There is a difference between an inconvenience and a tragedy.

Is the refrigerator breaking and all your food going bad a tragedy or an inconvenience? It is a major inconvenience. But the death of a loved one, now that is a tragedy. We have to separate the two. If we treat every inconvenience that comes along like a tragedy, we’ll wear ourselves out. So how do you deal with the inconveniences when they come up? The best way is to ask God. God, if you were me would you worry about this issue now or ever? About the fridge He may say don’t worry, just fix the problem.  But there are also times when other people plop their “crisis” onto your lap and try to make it yours. This is a great time to ask God what to do. Sometimes you need to help by praying, loving, giving money or time or whatever God directs in the situation. Other times that “crisis” is just a distraction. Some people feel validated if they are going through a crisis. Which means, they will always find a crisis so they can manage it and feel needed. I call these people sub-marine people. They are going to go under anyway, they just want to take you down too.

Now, there are other times too. This section is really for those hungry for change, because you may know in your heart that stuff comes up all the time and it is extremely difficult to deal with. You know you would never in a million years want to plop your problems on anyone, but suffering alone is too much to bear. The stress seems to out-weigh you like a fifty-ton gorilla and nothing ever seems to give. There are times when inconvenience after inconvenience causes too much stress, which in turn causes a tragedy.  Personally, I feel that this is 70% of Americans. They work, have kids, have a mortgage, the stress of home management and lots of really inconvenient things come up all the time. Some start feeling like they are just in the target zone. Or maybe the devil is using them as target practice because they just can’t seem to get ahead.

I came to that point in my life about nine years ago. It got me so down that I wanted to either end my life or run away from everything I knew. Situation after situation piled on the stress until I was at my breaking point. I pleaded with God to end it. That prayer and supplication (which is; praying for specific needs to be met) brought an end to a relationship. I thought I was at my end, but God knew what really needed to end and by all means it wasn’t me. I thank GOD for that now. I would have missed out on so many things. The devil was sure working to make me think it was me though. If he could have destroyed me, then I wouldn’t be here, blessed and joy-filled and successful at any degree. I’ve learned since then, that discouragement is a trick. If the devil can get you discouraged, he can start to break down what makes you strong. What is it that makes you strong my friend?

The fact that you are “… (anxious) for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God” 

God is our strength. But anxiousness or anxiety is the doorway to discouragement. Discouragement brings all kinds of negative with it. What is anxiety? Fear. Fear shows up in just about any form you can think of.

“For God hath not given us the spirit of fear but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” 2 Timothy 1:7

If all that fear and anxiety is not from God, then who is it from? Our adversary. How do we get rid of him?

“Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” James 4:7

The devil MUST obey you when you use the power and authority of the name of Jesus Christ. Are you feeling oppressed, depressed and hopeless? You are being attacked spiritually and you need to fight spirit with spirit. Resist, resist, resist the temptation to think evil about someone else and even yourself. Resist the anxiety and instead use the sword of the spirit which is the Word of God against the devil in your life.

My husband and I have committed ourselves to daily prayer over our lives. If you are not married, find a prayer partner and do this everyday. Tomorrow we’ll go over what results can happen but for today, be encouraged. God has not left you alone. He is at hand and He, God the Maker of the Universe will stand up for you.

“Behold, I [am] the LORD, the God of all flesh: is there any thing too hard for me?” Jeremiah 32:27

“Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH [is] everlasting strength:” Isaiah 26:4

God bless you today!

2 thoughts on “Stress Management Part 1”

Leave a Reply

