An Enigma on Television That Makes Us Better People

An enigma: a person or thing that is mysterious and hard to understand.

I watched Duck Dynasty on A&E last night and tried to figure out what was so popular about the show. Of course, like many of you I laughed and laughed at the uncle’s antics and the brother’s comedic take on the events of their siblings, but one thing about the show began to shine through. There is an enigma. That enigma is Phil the grandfather and original owner of Duck Commander. The man is a multi-millionaire, but you’d never guess it. His boys are wealthy too, but their houses, cars and situations are easily solved by buying something new. Phil on the other hand, needs very little that shines. He sat whittling out some stick by a tree as his second son listened to him scold him for not putting the plug in his sinking his canoe. He’d made them go drag the boat out of the river and not leave any of the equipment behind. It was a twenty-year-old boat. He could have bought a new one a hundred times over. The mom tried to make the point that old stuff has value…sentimental value. But I think it goes further than that. Phil and Kay…mostly Phil, is content that what he has. Money has not changed him into someone else. He struggles with seeing his “redneck” heritage and upbringing on the boys changed by the money they make. The lesson is astounding in today’s media where we are pummeled by commercials and marketing begging us to buy something new everyday. My son thinks, at four years old, that every commercial is an invitation to buy whatever he sees. Of course the company designing these commercials love that!  But I’m the one in charge of the check book. Even I’ve had to learn this lesson from my husband. One of my favorite stress relieving activities is to go shopping. There is nothing wrong with that…right?

You’re going to laugh at me, but when I saw this verse today…I cringed. Then I prayed for God to help me understand and ginosko this verse to the depth of my soul.

“Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned in whatsoever state I am; therewith to be content.” Philippians 4:11

Ouch, right. I even whined to God. God, I can’t do this. I always like new things, I like to shop.

You’re missing the point of the verse Terri.

Uhhh….really??

Yup, it means to be thankful.

Oh, how so?

“Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.” Phil. 4:7

If you’re in abundance, be thankful. If you’re poor and have a few bread crumbs to eat for dinner, be thankful. Be thankful IN the situation, not FOR each one of them. Don’t be anxious, just communicate and be thankful.

gratitude-001

IF you have an old boat that has served you well and you’re thankful for that, you won’t want to get a shiny new one. You’ll be too busy being thankful for the old one. When its usefulness is gone, then buy a new one. It makes you a better steward, more trustworthy, more loving, and more able to handle anything that comes up.

My Mom has a Toyota that has over 260,000 miles on it. She says the reason it has run so long, is because she thanks God for it every day. That is a pretty amazing example if you ask me. She is an enigma.

The key to abundance and really life…is thankfulness. It is also God’s will.

“In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Be an enigma of gratitude. It’ll blow everyone away.

God Bless You Today

Leave a Reply

