Do You Have Something to Say?

Have you ever tried blogging? Blogging is an easy way to start saying something and today I’d like to blog about blogging.

I’d like to cover three questions.

  •  What’s the benefit of blogging and why should you start today?
  • How do you find things to blog about? 
  • It’s easy to get started, but like anything else, how do you keep going?

83286914b

Okay, so what is the benefit of blogging and why should you start today?

I’ve blogged now for almost three years. I have over 600 blogs on this site which isn’t much compared to the pro bloggers out there. People use blogging for millions of different reasons. Some never tell any of their friends they blog and have one or two readers. They blog/journal for their own mental well-being and feel better after. The key to blogging is you have to decide why you are doing it. The number one reason for me was this verse.

“Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.” Proverbs 4:7

I knew that the teacher always learns way more than the student and I wanted to learn about God. So I started with a simple idea to learn more by teaching a verse a day, five days a week. There are thousands of verses and endless possibilities to teach within the Word of God. Today, I don’t recognize myself because I have dug in so far to the Word I’m a new and still learning-like-crazy person. I love it and it works!

Second reason: I wanted to practice writing. I love to paint with words and color, blogging was great way to practice writing everyday which is one of the keys to success in anything you endeavor to do.

How do you find things to blog about?

Did you know that something beautiful happens everyday. Life is a kaleidoscope of colors, passions, talented people who have educated fascinating opinions and astounding abilities. Life is a teacher, professor and a classroom! Life is the writer’s studio, the painter’s inspiration, the philosopher’s pathway to discovery and the clergyman’s pew. You must decide how to embrace and release life in your own way. It simply takes seeing it. Enjoy the journey through this amazing place and then reflect with God. I blog because I love learning and I love the teacher’s task. I continue blogging because I, like you, have a mind that continues to ask. Dare to ask. Dare to stretch yourself and take God with you.

There is a rule if you want your blog to go to mainstream and that is, keep your blogs under one or two general topic umbrellas. Here are some great questions to ask yourself. What’s your passion? How has God helped you develop it? What are some of the keys you’ve learned while perfecting it. OR what are you learning while practicing?

It’s easy to get started, but like anything else, how do you keep going?

This is where a true desire to be faithful comes in. You must decide that blogging, like exercise or eating right, is a worthy habit. The great thing about habits are; once you’ve put them into place they are self-motivating. You feel funny if you haven’t done that one thing in your day. Behavioral scientists say that it takes 21 days to form a habit. So just blog everyday for the first 22 days, even on Sat. and Sunday just to get yourself going. I say 22 because if you’re like me you’ll work towards that 21st day and then sit back on your heels and wait for something magical to kick in. On the twenty-third day, plan for your next five blogs. Set a goal to reach 100 in under 5 months. You’ll be amazed at the power goals give you. Once you’ve hit six months, plan to hit the year mark and celebrate.

“A faithful man shall abound with blessings:” Proverbs 28:20a

That is a promise! We stay faithful, God pours on the blessing. All you have to commit to is faithfulness. Let God supply the words, ideas, and discoveries. We all know God WANTS to teach us. And isn’t learning straight from the Master a beautiful way to learn? Those who know me best have seen me change, develop and grow in my walk with God. More importantly I’ve gained confidence. That comes when you trust God over and over and over to supply your need. Do you have a need for words? So did I. Once I got the fear of “not having something to continually say” from my heart by trusting God, I grew. You will too. Now all you have to do is start.

God Bless You Today!

P.S. If you have a blog, leave its link in the comments below so I can start watching your greatness shine through too.

Leave a Reply

