A Surprising Sanctuary

All summer long, I’ve been hunched over my paints and computer feeling like Benjamin Franklin on his 700th testing of the lighted filament. I’ve been practicing, painting, learning, writing it down and then going back to my sketches and trying again. I realize that a skill of any degree requires time and commitment.

This is all well and good, but two weeks ago I went to God because I started feeling out of balance. I felt lopsided if that makes sense. (All work and no play.) I asked Him how to change all that. He helped me see that I wasn’t taking time to have fun. Fun can be had in anything we do including working out, dieting and activities that feed the soul. I was intrigued. I’ve never been one to work out because it was fun. He reminded me of the elliptical trainer and weights down in my dark, needing renovation, basement. I just needed to go down, forget where I was and have fun. So I did. I began listening to music, praying in the spirit, reading the Word and working out.

I closed my eyes to the cracking cement walls and dark wood paneling and started to thank God for this place where I could get away and fellowship with Him.

sanctuary-001

Sanctuary:

 a place of refuge or safety, a holy place; a temple or church.

Before I knew it, I wanted to go down and work out, even on my days off, because I was having fun. I couldn’t believe it! I don’t want to say I hated it down there, but it lacks appeal to me. Now, I don’t even see the lack. I go there to commune with my Father, to pray and to worship. My endorphins are humming at the same time I am. Wow! What a transition.

“But Christ being come an high priest of good things to come, by a greater and more perfect tabernacle, not made with hands, that is to say, not of this building.” Hebrews 9:11

How can you rest while exerting so much energy? Easy!

Exercise is a powerful pain-killer, anti aging potion, and energy giver. I feel as though I’ve tapped into a fountain of youth! I come up from working out and my eyes are dancing, my body feels more lithe and limber, not to mention the way praying in the spirit for a half hour makes me soar. I tell you honestly, there is nothing so powerful!

So how about it? Why not find your tabernacle not made with hands, and invest some time in it. It might help bring you balance in ways you’ve never imagined.

God Bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

