How to: See More For Yourself

How can you have more, if you can’t see more for yourself?

sight-001

One of the things most often taken for granted, is the power of our own self-sight, which is how we see ourselves. Sometimes seeing a better view means cleaning off the lenses and looking with new eyes. By doing that we gain better self-sight and then see more for ourselves, and our positive future, than ever before.

Here are 4 tips I think will surprise you.

  1. Low-self esteem is symptomatic of too much thinking only about ourselves. I know that sounds strange, but I’ve noticed that on my lowest days, I think someone is mad at me, or not liking  me, or judging me. That’s a lot of thinking about ME. The simple fact of human nature is…they are probably not thinking about ME at all. They’re just thinking about THEMselves, their lives and their bubble. Very few people concern themselves in other people’s issues, problems or hang ups. Humans just aren’t like that. We think about our jobs, our next projects and our next to-do-list items. When I do run into someone who is worried about what others think, I see one habit pattern prevailing in their mind. Condemnation. They are highly critical or condemning of themselves so they think everyone else is too. If that’s you, then I have something that might help you get over that.
      • If God the Creator of the heavens and earth, isn’t condemning you, then why are you condemning yourself? Don’t beat yourself up so much. If you beat yourself up, you do the job of weakening a believer for the adversary all by yourself. Why help HIM along? “There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.” Romans 8:1
      • Look at yourself in light of the Word. It makes you much more thankful. God moved heaven and earth just so He could talk to you one-on-one today. You mean so much to Him that, when you pray, you have an immediate audience with the Creator of the Universe. I’d say you were a pretty big deal, and to the one guy who matters most. So instead of beating yourself up, look up…like Jesus Christ did.
      • “I can of mine own self do nothing: as I hear, I judge: and my judgment is just; because I seek not mine own will, but the will of the Father which hath sent me.” John 5:30. Jesus Christ concerned himself with one person, that was God. Then He let God guide him into being concerned for others. Jesus did this so well and so seamlessly that people know him throughout history as the most loving person and the most benevolent man ever. Just imagine if we let God have that much of our attention or even a tenth! Wow. We can only come out of the confusion by coming back to God and His Word.
  2. Change involves work. Don’t sell yourself short. Change comes from the inside out. History is made by one or two people at a time making changes in their own lives. If sin (broken fellowship with God) makes you sick, weak and afraid and the love of God in the renewed mind makes you healthy, strong-minded and sure-footed, then go for it. Don’t quit until you have your health, mind and peace. It’s your life. The future is in your hands. Success is totally up to you. When the depressing thoughts or the failure thinking sneaks in, fight hard by putting the Word of God in. Think about what you are thinking about. IF we know that the devil can’t defeat us when we walk with God, then we should take claim over our space spiritually. Cast out the negatives in the name of Jesus Christ and stand your ground. I don’t like bullies. The devil is a bully who wants to keep you down and keep you depressed. If you’re depressed and worried what others think, you’ll never   do the next tip. What’s the next tip?
  3. The strong ones defy the apathy of the popular consensus, which leans towards narcissist behavior, and revolutionize the world with benevolence. In other words, they strive to bless not impress. I think I’m so smart sometimes. I go on and on with all the cool things I can do, when God knows it’s best to shut up and listen. When it comes down to brass tacks, I don’t know anything compared to God. And when I’m with someone, who God thought was important enough to send His son and die for, I need to have respect for them and Him by reaching out and tenderly blessing them the way HE wants them blessed. This has been a hard won perception that I only gained after literally YEARS of failed relationships, and I still get it wrong. No one is perfect. But God loves us and our fellow humans enough to help us get close. Close enough to see the next tip come to pass.
  4. The more than abundant life comes from having your mind well-arranged. Every good business has protocol and a procedure manual. It details a host of issues including behavior and characteristics of a good employee. We have that for life as well. It starts with the Love of God, agape. How do we figure out agape? We learn these characteristics of agape. In your mind put “agape“, or the “love of God” where it reads “charity”.
      •  “Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity (agape or the Love of God), I am become [as] sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. 2 And though I have [the gift of] prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing. 3 And though I bestow all my goods to feed [the poor], and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing. 4 Charity suffereth long, [and] is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, 5 Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; 6 Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; 7 Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.” 1 Corinthians 13:1-7

Seeing more for ourselves means taking off the things that blind and bind us. God says we are more than conquerors through Him so that means it comes down to this.

No situation is any more difficult than the difficulty of renewing your mind to the Word of God and walking out on it. 

God Bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

