What is Your Special Ministry? Part 1

I asked my son last night, if he would like a Hot Fudge Sunday. He paused and smiled.

“No. I want a Hot Fudge Friday!” 

HA! I loved that. A new name was born.

Having a four-year-old really opens your eyes to all the figures of speech you use in your language. Like, when I told him, “I’m sorry that happened to you,” after he fell down, “that just stinks.”

He wrinkled his nose and said, “Stinks? What stinks?” 

Again, I needed to explain, as he asked me next, “Mama, did you fart?”

“UGH! NO!” I really wish we hadn’t been in the middle of Walmart…

“It’s okay Mama, it happens to Daddy all the time.”

OH LORD!

I thought the three white-haired grannies in the same aisle were gonna burst into tears they were laughing so hard.

Boy, I could really use a Hot Fudge Friday right now.

Moms Special Ops-001

God uses some figures of speech in the Bible too. Sometimes I feel like a four-year-old trying to understand them. But, like any figure of speech, it takes maturity to understand and just a little explaining.

Like this amazing insertion by Paul in Ephesians 3.

“2 If ye have heard of the dispensation of the grace of God which is given me to you-ward: 3 How that by revelation he made known unto me the mystery; (as I wrote afore in few words, 4 Whereby, when ye read, ye may understand my knowledge in the mystery of Christ) 5 Which in other ages was not made known unto the sons of men, as it is now revealed unto his holy apostles and prophets by the Spirit; 6 That the Gentiles should be fellowheirs, and of the same body, and partakers of his promise in Christ by the gospel: 7 Whereof I was made a minister, according to the gift of the grace of God given unto me by the effectual working of his power. 8 Unto me, who am less than the least of all saints, is this grace given, that I should preach among the Gentiles (unbelievers) the unsearchable riches of Christ; 9 And to make all [men] see what [is] the fellowship of the mystery, which from the beginning of the world hath been hid in God, who created all things by Jesus Christ: 10 To the intent that now unto the principalities and powers in heavenly [places] might be known by the church the manifold wisdom of God, 11 According to the eternal purpose which he purposed in Christ Jesus our Lord: 12 In whom we have boldness and access with confidence by the faith of him. 13 Wherefore I desire that ye faint not at my tribulations for you, which is your glory.” Ephesians 3:2-13

This whole section is one figure of speech called a “Parembole or Insertion, which means an insertion besides, between or among others; and the name is used when the sentence interposed is independent and complete in itself; and would make complete sense if it were separated from the sentence it divides.” EW Bullinger’s Figures of Speech Used in the Bible.  

Figures of speech are important to God and His Word. He uses them to give emphasis. In the one above, I was so blessed to see Paul made an insertion concerning his special ministry and connection to the Gentiles. It goes into great detail. Paul had to learn all those details before he started. Imagine yourself as a boss of a factory and you hire a new employee. Would you just send him out onto the floor without telling him HOW to run the expensive equipment? What is more valuable than the life and heart of a human being? Which leads me to believe that God has special ops for us too. And He knows every detail about the best and highest use of your life.

“For we are his workmanship (masterpiece), created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:10

This is WHY we were created in Christ Jesus. We were ordained, in other words, set apart to walk in these good works. Well….what are they? How do we find out? Is there a special prayer? Or a special necklace or candle to light? How do we find out what these are? Look at the next verse.

“That the man of God may be perfect (totally able to handle himself, mature), throughly furnished unto all good works.” 2 Timothy 3:17

It’s clear to me that God does have special “jobs” for each of us. Now, it’s a matter of walking in that ministry. So what is it? Is it music, painting, or literature? Is it your work on the factory floor or behind the church pulpit?

Tomorrow we’ll go over some very important ways for you to find out.

God Bless You Today!

One thought on “What is Your Special Ministry? Part 1”

Leave a Reply

