How to Have Realistically GREAT Expectations

There was a gentlemen that I thought could read my mind. Every time he taught the Word, and because I had placed him on some holy pulpit, I walked away blessed and crushed. If he were to mention leprosy, I thought God was trying to tell ME something. I had him on such a pedestal that when I went to his house one day, I was shocked at the disarray. His house was a huge mess, and everything about his personal stuff was A MESS!! In my book, “Holiness” by Terri Porta, messiness could NOT be a sign of godliness. That wasn’t the only thing I started discovering either. I found out he’d lose his temper sometimes and yell at people. I found out he needed glasses to read, and had trouble with technology. I drew the line when I heard him pass gas!

Now, I thank God I don’t see him much anymore, but the reason might surprise you. Yes, he still IS a man of God. But the poor guy had to put up with my ridiculous expectations of his humanness every time I was around. He couldn’t just be HUMAN. He had to be this stiff, super human. If he wasn’t saying something biblically astounding, then I wondered what I had done to make him mad. I almost got to the point of idolatry, because I put what he said above what God said. That man didn’t WRITE the Bible! He never wanted to be thought of like he had either. I had just lauded him so high that he could do no wrong and he certainly couldn’t be just…well human. WOW! What a revelation!

My expectations have matured A LOT since then. Yes and I’m a little embarrassed that I acted that way too.

Bitterness can happen when unhealthy expectations of someone, or something, go unfulfilled. 

Expectations are a very powerful thing. They create an almost fantasy-like reality around you. Our mind creates them about all kinds of situations and people. We get a new job and expect that things will get better. We expect our children to be better humans than the rest of the species. We expect a friend to always know what we need when we need it especially if they are a believer. Wow! What happens when someone has a bad day around those kind of expectations? Disaster, which could lead to bitterness.

“For they that are after the flesh do mind the things of the flesh;” Romans 8:5a

Flesh is another way of saying the five senses. We take in our information or make expectations by using our five-senses understanding. “Do mind” is the word for “put your heart into or care for” the things in the five-senses world.

As we grow we begin to realize that our parents aren’t always right, or even right for each other. We realize that we are all just human, and prone to errors or miscommunication. We start to give people the benefit of the doubt more, because we’ve had them expect too much of us and failed them. As we mature, these kind of things work themselves out.

One of the key character traits I see in someone maturing in the Lord is…

Realistically GREAT Expectations

1 Corinthians 2 9-001

HOW can we get those?

Only God can give them. Why… because only GOD truly has them. What God expects and knows of us is truer than what we know by our five senses about ourselves or any five-senses situation.

“but they that are after the Spirit (do mind) the things of the Spirit.” vs. 5b

Okay, so what does God expect out of us?

“For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God. For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba (Daddy), Father. The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God:” vs 14-16

God knows we have His Spirit and if we have His Spirit we are the sons (and daughters) of God. There is no fear in that adoption. It is truth. It is what we can know and expect. He doesn’t just expect you to be His child. That’s just the beginning.

All our expectations are drawn from the physical world which is a world under the rule and the higher, more powerful authority of the Kingdom of God. So if we align our expectations with God’s we will be walking in a true truth. God’s truth. We will have REAL-istically Great Expectations. What does God “know” about you?

“Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities (helps our lesser five-senses understanding): for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered (speaking in tongues). 27 And he that searcheth the hearts knoweth what [is] the mind of the Spirit (YOUR SPIRIT), because he maketh intercession for the saints according to [the will of] God. 28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to [his] purpose. 29 For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate [to be] conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren. 30 Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified. 31 What shall we then say to these things? If God [be] for us, who [can be] against us?” vs. 26-31

I have tears burning in my eyes at the greatness of this amazing chapter! What does God know about me? He knows I have unhealthy (human and five-senses) expectations,despite that He CALLED me, He JUSTIFIED me and He GLORIFIED me. Just like He did for all those who believe. WOW! God knows you better than you know yourself because He has a spiritual knowledge of these spiritual truths. AND then all things work together for good to them that love GOD. These are God’s expectations.

With so many realistically great expectations going for us, who can be against us?

God Bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

