Have You Been Touched Lately?

Positive, healing, and godly touch from a loving, prayerful person is a powerful phenomena.

hug-001

Have you ever received touch like that? Have you ever reached out and touched someone else with it? Touch triggers a biological response inside our bodies. Like a natural cocaine or sugar rush, touch tells our bodies to release oxytocin, the Love hormone. Mothers know all about the use of oxytocin after labor and pregnancy. Oxytocin produces a surge of love and bonding feeling when you see your baby for the first time, or it tells your body that your baby is hungry and needs to eat. The quantities of oxytocin surge to higher levels when a woman first has a baby. But what most people don’t realize we all have smaller doses of this hormone for our daily use in both genders. It is still a powerful bonding agent and effective at knitting friendships, hearts and lives. Wow! God thought of all that!

Our children crave our love.

When children reach their arms to us we should stop and revel in their touch. Within an instant, tiny explosions are happening inside the thyroid glands that is sending the “love hormone” to the rest of our bodies. Research has linked physical touch to health, rehabilitation and stress relief many, many times. But has anyone gone to God the Author and Maker of our bodies and discovered His use for this amazing reaction?

Well…we’re going to today.

First, I’d like for you to hum part of this well-known hymn, written by Bill and Gloria Gaither, (this link is a video of the Gaither Vocal Group singing “He Touched Me” on YouTube.)

“Shackled by a heavy burden,
‘Neath a load of guilt and shame.
Then the hand of Jesus touched me,
And now I am no longer the same.

He touched me,
Oh He touched me,
And oh the joy that floods my soul!
Something happened and now I know,
He touched me and made me whole.”

The touch of Jesus Christ was, and still, is the most powerful human touch in the world. 

Jesus Christ asked us to be HIS ambassadors. We need to be the ones to take the touch of spiritual purity and truth out and forever change lives. Whenever I touch someone, I thank God for their life.

God still touches our life too. I remember a time when I had turned away from God. I was running. I was doing my own thing. It didn’t take long for the devil to hurt me. I remember my heart-broken and crying out to God in my loneliness. Suddenly, where I sat on the floor, a small piece of sunlight moved across to my fingers, then grew to my arm, then to my body and head. As it grew, awe shook my soul. I knew in that moment that God never stopped loving me and that He wanted to help me out of the terrible situation. It was simple, and yes it was just the sun. But my life was changed because I humbled myself and became honest with God. I told Him I was sorry and truly meant it. It changed my life forever because I was new again. I wanted the change. I was ready for God’s touch. God never pushes Himself on us or forces us to submit to Him. That’s the devil’s agenda. Not God’s. It has to be our choice. God never forces us to obey, to listen, or to renew our minds. We have to want Him and want the abundance He promises. Then we have to go back again and again for it, of our own freewill. The timing is our choice. Like the man sitting at the Gate called Beautiful. Here he begged everyday for his whole life. He had sat there many times when Jesus Christ walked by. Why hadn’t Jesus healed him?

“Now Peter and John went up together into the temple at the hour of prayer, being the ninth hour. And a certain man lame from his mother’s womb was carried, whom they laid daily at the gate of the temple which is called Beautiful, to ask alms of them that entered into the temple; Who seeing Peter and John about to go into the temple asked an alms. And Peter, fastening his eyes upon him with John, said, Look on us. And he gave heed unto them, expecting to receive something of them. 

Then Peter said, Silver and gold have I none; but such as I have give I thee: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth rise up and walk. And he took him by the right hand, and lifted him up: and immediately his feet and ankle bones received strength. And he leaping up stood, and walked, and entered with them into the temple, walking, and leaping, and praising God.” Acts 3:1-2, 6-7

Can you imagine the man’s panic and regret when he realized he’d lost his chance for a healing after Jesus Christ was crucified? This verse happened after the day of Pentecost. It occurred fifty plus days after the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Can you imagine his despair? He had to have heard what Jesus had done for so many others. So he sat and begged. Maybe he hoped God would have pity on his soul. People walked by him there. They never looked at him. They never touched him, he was an “untouchable”. He was an “unclean one”. What a lonely existence. But it was there that GOD saw his heart. GOD knew his need. When he looked up, it was Peter, not Jesus Christ, who fixed him with a stare. Can you imagine the jolt this man felt when Peter touched his outstretched hand?

There is still power in God’s touch. There is POWER in the truth of humility. There is still great deliverance waiting for us in God’s embrace. Will you go there?

God bless You today!

Leave a Reply

