How Powerful is Your Hunger?

It’s been almost a week since I wrote my last post here, and I missed you! I thought about you all weekend and dreamt about you last night. Okay, not you specifically because I haven’t met all of you, but I missed this! This digging into the soil of the Word of God and pulling out gems of discovery! This stuff has me HOOKED! Ha! Maybe God meant to make it like this. That reminds me of the verse in Matthew.

“Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.” Matthew 5:6

Hunger is a powerful force.

Physical hunger is a world-wide cause for war and humanitarian efforts. Famine strikes large areas and populations. Physical hunger is a tragedy. It is the cause for huge amounts of human suffering. But what about spiritual hunger? Is it not a bigger cause than that of the physical? What feeds spiritual hunger? True spiritual food. So do we just go the God’s refrigerator and filler up? Sure, why not!

I used to think if I just filled the gnawing ache in my belly with food, of any kind, I’d feel better. I’d eat junk food, candy and the like and then I would go on my merry way. Before long I wasn’t feeling my best. I was hungry again sooner and there was this unpleasant substance growing around my waist, hips and thighs. Now, I know better. I need to eat food that fuels the body and promotes my physical health. The same thing goes for spiritual hunger. Good nutrition creates strength, steadiness and longevity. The only cure for malnutrition, is good nutrition. So what should we do? Well this is a two-part solution. First we must promote accurate spiritual nutrition in our lives. If you have the opportunity to hear the rightly divided word from a student of the Word of God seize that opportunity because it’s a rare one!

frige of God-001

The verse in Matthew 5:6 says, “for they shall be filled”. That is a promise and the Greek word for “filled” is “chortazō”. It means, filled and satisfied to your own appetite level. Who is in charge of your appetite? You are! If you only need a little to fill you up, then you’ll be filled with righteousness or the right way to believe only little. IF you have a HUGE appetite for the right way to believe, or righteousness, then you’ll be filled to your appetite level. How cool is that?

God knew everyone would come to His Word with different needs. A big hunger level is very similar to having a big stomach physically. If you work out and have large physical demands on your energy levels you need more energy and food. “Righteousness” means, “the right way to believe”. The bigger we walk out on our faith, the more we need to know the “right way to believe”. SO how do we walk bigger on our faith? We put ourselves in a position to use our faith. What do you need? Do you need a new job, money, excitement, friendship, love, romance, peace, joy, energy, healing, a miracle, the Word?  SURE! We all do! So ask God for it.

First ask, God is it available?

Then ask, How do I receive it?

Once He tells you how to receive it, do that thing. Faith is a verb, an action word. We have to exercise it and grow it and use it. IF we act out on revelation God gave us about a subject and double-check that revelation with His Written Word, are we not finding out the right way to believe for something? Then once we have the right way to believe on something and we do it, are we not acting out our faith?

How do we get more faith?

“So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” Romans 10:17

God already told us. We get more faith by going back to the refrigerator and cupboards of God’s rightly divided Word. ISN’T that beautiful!? Ha! I love it!

Tomorrow, I’d like to go over the second step of faith, which is receiving it. After you hear it, you have to receive it. There is more than one way to receive something and tomorrow we’ll talk about what God says is the right way to receive the Word.

Until then, filler up!

God Bless You Today!

One thought on “How Powerful is Your Hunger?”

Leave a Reply

