How Did I GET On This Road to Nowhere?

What am I doing? Where have I been? How did I get on this road loaded with pressures, problems and strife? I thought I WAS making godly decisions but nothing is going right? Doesn’t God like me? Doesn’t His people care? Isn’t He supposed to be helping me out? How did I get on this road to nowhere!?

These are the kind of questions we ask ourselves when we are out of fellowship with God. They are frustrating, and make us irritable. We want to lash out and blame everyone else for what is happening. Yup, I been there many times. Goodness, I was there yesterday! Lol….

Perch-001

Do you remember Noah and the ark? Well, my son and I were visiting about when Noah was told to send out a dove. If it came back to the ark, the water hadn’t receded and land was still too far away. IF it didn’t come back it found somewhere to perch and that meant land had finally appeared above the water.

“Also he sent forth a dove from him, to see if the waters were abated from off the face of the ground; But the dove found no rest for the sole of her foot, and she returned unto him into the ark, for the waters were on the face of the whole earth: then he put forth his hand, and took her, and pulled her in unto him into the ark.” Genesis 8:8-9

Doves are amazing creatures. They do not have the long wing span of an eagle or the flight interim wing design of the giant albatross. Doves are small and have soft feathers, they like a perch handy. So they don’t fly very far from safety and rest.

This reminds me of what it’s like when we try to live life without God. When we get too far away, we try to land our little feet on the water full of sharks. Every time we do, something tries to eat us, kill us or steal from us. So we have to stay up in the air all by ourselves, which is really hard work. God wants us to have rest in Him.

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.” Matthew 11:28-29

There is another wonderful feature about doves. Doves have no guile, they are built without a gall bladder which collects the guile in our bodies. Children have no guile, or bitterness either. God’s love has no guile and asks us not to hold on to bitterness.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

God is more anxious to answer this prayer, than we are to pray it because He knows it will give us rest. God wants to do for us what Noah did for the dove, “he put forth his hand, and took her, and pulled her in unto him into the ark.”

“For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments: and His commandments are not grievous.” 1 John 5:3

We love God by doing what He asks and what He asks are not tasks too hard to do. Isn’t that amazing! I heard this weekend that getting back in gear with God is not like riding a bike, it’s easier than that. All you have do is start. Once you start, everything starts falling back into the right place again. Start with the five basics. Just start! Start praying again, start speaking in tongues again, start asking the question; God if you were me what would you say, do, or think in this situation? Start reading the Word again. Start in Ephesians! Just start. You’ll see it’s easy.

It’s as easy as finding a nice perch. 

God Bless You today!

Below is a link to the 5 Basics for Growth Book on Amazon.com. This book best describes how to start back up with God.

Buy Terri's First eBook by clicking the link above.
Buy Terri’s First eBook by clicking the link below.

5 Basics for Growth

$2.99

Leave a Reply

