I’ve Have This Addiction…

I have this addiction I didn’t want to tell anyone about it for a long time. It was a secret, an undercover thing. If it came up in conversation, I was so afraid someone would pick up on it, that I’d freeze, or change the subject. Little did I know, it wouldn’t stay in that tight cramped little space for long. Those who knew me best were worried. Worried that if I didn’t finally talk about it, I’d explode. I was addicted to…gosh it’s hard to even say. I know most of you will understand as soon as I do say it. I am addicted to the hokey pokey. I just love to turn myself around!

Lol…sorry lame joke from Facebook.

Of course, real addictions are no laughing matter. They can be sneaky, manipulative. We want to lie to protect them, ignore them and hope they go away, deny the extent of them and pretend. Yup, there’s lots of pretending. We hide these secret sins desperately hoping that none of our church friends find out.

But here’s the straight skinny on addictions. God designed us with the ability to have them.

Dun, Dun DUNNN. Shocker. I know. Of course, GOD designed them to be healthy, pure and fun. Look at this verse.

“I beseech you, brethren, (ye know the house of Stephanas, that it is the firstfruits of Achaia, and that they have addicted themselves to the ministry of the saints,)” 1 Corinthians 16:17

They addicted themselves to the ministry of the saints. WOW! What a great thing to be addicted to!

Habits get a bad rap too. Good habit are incredibly freeing and can help you reduce things that are a chore to a habit you do every day without fighting it. Habits are great! You can form the habit of reading the Word, praying, studying, fellowshipping with like-minded believers and giving. These are amazing habits.

So what happens when they turn bad? Anytime the world or men get ahold of something it turns out bad. Nuff said…

How do we change them?

IF you have a chemical problem, quit.

Chemicals will eventually wash from your system keeping the addiction from growing and propagating. Quit going around them, quit buying them, quit participating. Quit making excuses, just quit.

Don’t ignore it, let it really die. 

Next step, replace it with another addiction…

HA! A HEALTHY ONE! Since God designed us to be programmable, find a new program. LOVE energizes believing. I learned this with painting. First, I look everywhere for inspiration. Then I find a picture or moment that really blesses me. As I plan the painting out, I fall more and more in love with the concept, then I paint it, thanking God the whole time to magnify my work and guide my hands. Love for the painting energized my believing in my ability, the concept and the pure joy of doing it. The more I do, the more I want to do. So, as far as an addiction is concerned, go to God and find out what addiction will be a healthy replacement.

I truly believe that anything man does, makes or participates in, under the sun, has the potential of being an addiction. But it is up to us to decide whether to choose good ones or awful ones. You know the awful ones…I don’t really need to tell you.

When I first started blogging, I thought it would last a week. Here I am almost three years later and totally addicted. I love the process, I love the time with God, I love you guys. NOT to mention all the crazy growth. It’s bad. I think I’m going to have to keep doing it the rest of my life. 🙂

Just because your addicted to something awful, doesn’t make you an awful person. The world loves to label people. The awful addiction does, however, make hearing God a whole lot harder because you try to avoid Him. God already knows about it but we try to avoid feeling guilty. God loves you. He designed you to have addictions. ADDICTIONS aren’t what He’s worried about. What He wants is fellowship with you and when you break fellowship with Him there is no communication. Period. That sucks for Him AND for you because He has so many awesome things to tell you about life. First, He wants to tell you how much He loves you. How big is that fellowship to God?

“For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us; Having abolished in his flesh the enmity, even the law of commandments contained in ordinances; for to make in himself of twain one new man, so making peace; And that he might reconcile both unto God in one body by the cross, having slain the enmity thereby: And came and preached peace to you which were afar off, and to them that were nigh. For through him we both have access by one Spirit unto the Father.” Ephesians 2:14-17

Jesus Christ did all this so we could have access to the Father. That’s pretty huge I think and the greatest addiction of all.

It’s big enough to turn ourselves around for.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

