One Step At a Time…

Have you ever been frustrated because the windows of heaven seem like they are blocked?

The hose of blessing, squeezed shut? Or the engine of joy, stalled? I had a few moments of quiet exasperation the other day. Smooth is how I’m used to things running, and suddenly life was coughing sputtering and trying to stall. Tons of blessings were flowing, but here and there things tried to trip me up.

Finally, I stopped and asked God, What do I need to be doing right now? The memory of two requests over two weeks or more ago came bouncing to mind. God assigned me two big projects, that if I diligently would’ve been doing them, they would be done by now. SO I and dropped everything I had planned and went back to them. Within a few hours, we were getting calls and business was flowing again. The windows burst open again.

step with God-001

It kind of reminds me of ol’ Jonah. Here he was given an assignment from God. Take a road trip, doing a speaking engagement and get on with your life. It shouldn’t have been a problem. But Jonah avoided the assignment. I too had procrastinated and put off what I’d been asked to do. Things didn’t go AS wrong for me as they did for Jonah, but if I had continued to have a prideful attitude about them, it would have been worse.

In our day and time, we have so many blessings coming at us that sometimes it’s hard to know when the hose stops flowing from God. Let’s look at this a little closer.

“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil.It shall be health to thy navel, and marrow to thy bones.” Proverbs 3:5-8

The preverbal “Hose” of wisdom or fount of knowledge does not run dry on God’s end, but on ours. What are some reasons it is blocked? Here’s just a few examples.

  1. Pride, wisdom in our own eyes. We think we know better than God. It can be very innocuous and simple. We just procrastinate because we don’t want to do what He says. We avoid asking Him about it because we think we know what He’ll say. Or we just do it our way without asking Him at all. That’s all just pride. There’s two kinds of pride in my book, towering pride and sneaky pride. Both are stubborn and both want control. The end result is always the same.
  2. Bitterness, believe it or not, bitterness is a HUGE problem. Bitterness is like gangue green from a wound that has not been taken care of. It gets worse and worse until it has to be amputated. When we don’t take care of bitterness in our lives, it takes over our attitudes and heart on every subject. The cure is kindness. GOD’S Kindness; which is bigger and more tender than any of us could imagine. We have to go to God to find out what to do in the situation. I will sometimes go to God with what I call a maintenance clean up. If there is anything or anyone I’m holding a grudge or bitterness against, we figure it out together. I want to travel light. And God needs me to travel light for Him.
  3. Stubbornness, this is pride too. They say that temper gets you in trouble, but pride/stubbornness keeps you there. I may have messed up and taken my own road without God, but once I realize it, what do I do next? DO I keep trying to force my way to work? Sometimes what God tells me to do just doesn’t make sense to me. If it doesn’t SEEM rational or related to the problem I asked Him to solve, I ignore it and keep trying to solve it other ways. How silly of me! God knows everything. Hindsight is always a better viewpoint. When I look back after it’s done, God will show me why He told me to do it that way. Even if looking back means looking back from Heaven, that viewpoint is still a better one, because I proved obedient. Sometimes I have to tell myself, out loud, SHUT UP TERRI AND JUST DO IT. Ha! That seems to work.
  4. ONE STEP AT A TIME…. I get ahead of myself all the time. I’m pretty sure that’s why God only shows me one step at a time. That “path” He promises to direct is one step at a time. I assume I know which path I’m on, and then RUN as fast as I can. Meanwhile God is back at the fork in the road pointing a whole new direction. I have to go back, slow down and get quiet. One step, then one step then one step.

When it comes to the Word of God, either we take the whole thing as God’s Word, or we slice it, dice it and change it so it says what we want it to say. For years I was told that I couldn’t speak in tongues because it died with the apostles. When I finally came face to face with the truth, I had a decision to make. It was hard to overcome years of training and error. God didn’t teach me that error, man did. So was I going to listen to God or man now?

Our spiritual body is the most incredible gift ever given to mankind. The devil tries to blind men’s minds to it because if they knew, they’d kick his butt. God gave it to us for that purpose. He gave it to us so we wouldn’t be stupid and so we could see the traps and tangles of pride, stubbornness and bitterness. It’s time we ceased the truth and took the next step, but just one step at a time.

God Bless You Today!

Follow the line up of posts in this series called, Your Spiritual Body, by clicking the links below.

Post 1

Post 2

Post 3

Post 4

Post 5

Post 6

Post 7

Post 8

Leave a Reply

