I Salute Your Rest!

Wow! I feel revived! After a span of about 3 weeks of pulling 14 to 16 hour days I finally took two days off. What a powerful renewer rest is. My body, mind and spirit regenerated and feel like when I first believed. I feel excited, bolstered and know that the abundant life is full of variety and fun.

How come we rarely understand the value of rest until we have a season of dashing about? There is nothing wrong with being busy, productive and hard-working. I applaud it in fact!  But there is also a time for rest. Now by rest I mean, I worked at home catching up on the house, laundry, family time etc. Rest isn’t immobility. Rest isn’t laziness. I use rest to “reset” my life. When I’m too busy to do a load of laundry, my laundry pile grows, multiplies and then spills over. The same happens everywhere else. Relationships, like with my son, my hubby, my mom, my friends. I have to find time for a little downtime. God meant for this. He rested on the seventh day after the enormous effort of creating all the animals, man and setting the earth back up with light in the sky and land.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
On the edge of napping.

I could get upset and bitter about how little rest I’ve had in the last few weeks and for the first hour, I did feel overwhelmed. But this verse helped.

“Where no oxen are, the crib is clean: but much increase is by the strength of the ox.”  Proverbs 14:4

If I had nothing to do, and no responsibilities, my house would be clean, my home would be clean and I’d probably be bored to tears! But I need the increase, I need the responsibilities so my family and life can expand. So I need a few messes and the busy schedule and sometimes the time-crunching pressure. Many people try to get out of having a mess or two in their lives so they avoid anything that would take them away from that “cleaning day”. Cleaning, paperwork, and dusting are not more important people or God’s work. This was such a relief to me when I realized it. Hey… dust keeps, laundry can be done in little chunks, and we have paper plates for those moments we run out of dishes. I’ll get to them at the earliest possible moment but never at the expense of the job God asked me to do.

The best thing about this is, when God let’s things rest, He really lets things rest. The rejuvenation is real and the joy is real. Let God run the show by asking where and what you should be doing.

“but God gave the increase.” 1 Corinthians 3:7b

“Then shall the earth yield her increase; and God, even our own God, shall bless us.” Psalms 67:6

And finally,

“Come unto me all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

